10 Best Portable Sawmills and Chainsaw Mills

If you are searching for the best saw mill for a homestead, woodlot, or small custom-lumber operation, start with the logs you actually expect to process. A 36-inch mill is not automatically the best choice: a 20-foot track may matter more for long boards, while a 22- or 26-inch mill can be easier to match to occasional work. This shortlist focuses on complete, gasoline-powered portable band sawmills with a log bed and sawhead. Chainsaw-mill attachments are a separate, more portable slab-cutting category and should not be compared by track length or board capacity. The leading choice is the BILT HARD 36-inch model for maximum stated capacity, while the MechMaxx SM-32 20-foot kit is the better alternative for long boards and included handling equipment.

Products were selected and ranked by practical fit for distinct milling jobs rather than by maximum engine size alone. The comparison prioritizes stated log diameter and length, maximum board width and thickness, track length, engine displacement and start system, included blades or handling tools, adjustment and safety controls, kit identity, warranty coverage, and delivery implications. Log diameter, usable board width, and one-pass cutting length are treated as separate specifications because a larger log rating does not automatically produce a wider board or a longer finished piece. Exact model and bundle identity also matter: listings with the same nominal sawmill size can change the engine, track, blade count, extension, trailer contents, or warranty. Scores are qualitative editorial judgments on a 0–10 scale and reflect suitability for the buyer described, not converted customer ratings.

Advertising Disclosure Beverly House Estate participates in affiliate programs, including the Amazon Associates Program. We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this site, at no extra cost to you.

Top-rated Comparison

Our Top 10 Picks

2
MechMaxx SM-32 20-Foot Portable Sawmill
Long-board specialist

MechMaxx SM-32 20-Foot Portable Sawmill

For owners who need long cutting reach from a 32-inch mill; the extended track, five blades, and cant hook add practical value, while the 26.5-inch board limit trails wider 32- and 36-inch options.

  • The 420cc 15HP electric-start engine is paired with a 32-inch log limit, 26.5-inch maximum board width, and 7-inch maximum thickness.
  • The listed 20-foot track combines a 13-foot bed with a 6.4-foot extension, while the stated standard cutting length is 16.3 feet.
  • Five blades and a cant hook are listed with the kit, and the product information separates a two-year sawmill warranty from a one-year engine warranty.
9.5
Check Price Available at Amazon
3
MechMaxx SM-32 13-Foot Portable Sawmill
Blade-ready 32-inch pick

MechMaxx SM-32 13-Foot Portable Sawmill

For buyers who want 32-inch capacity without the long-track bundle; its 10 included blades and 26.5-inch board width are useful, but the 13-foot track is less suitable for long logs.

  • The 420cc 15HP electric-start engine supports a listed 32-inch log diameter, 26.5-inch board width, and 7-inch board thickness.
  • The 13-foot track and stated approximately 9.9-foot log length favor shorter stems and a smaller milling footprint.
  • Ten included blades improve the initial consumables package, but the listing does not identify an included cant hook or trailer.
9.3
Check Price Available at Amazon
4
BILT HARD 32-Inch Portable Sawmill, 15HP
Wide-board compact 32

BILT HARD 32-Inch Portable Sawmill, 15HP

For homeowners and woodworkers who value board width in a shorter 32-inch platform; it lists 28.7-inch boards and electric start, but its roughly 12.8-foot track is not the long-board choice.

  • The 420cc 15HP electric-start engine is listed with a 32-inch log diameter, 28.7-inch maximum board width, and 7-inch thickness.
  • The listed 123-inch log length and 153.6-inch total track create a more compact match for personal or small-scale milling.
  • A measurement scale and handle-mounted emergency stop support repeatable cutting and quick shutdown, while blade contents are not stated.
9.2
Check Price Available at Amazon
5
BILT HARD 32-Inch Portable Sawmill, B&S 13.5HP
Named-engine alternative

BILT HARD 32-Inch Portable Sawmill, B&S 13.5HP

For buyers who prefer the listed B&S engine in a 32-inch sawmill; it retains wide-board capacity and electric start, but has less stated horsepower and fewer package details.

  • The listed B&S 420cc 13.5HP electric-start engine handles logs up to 32 inches in diameter and 123 inches in length.
  • Maximum output is stated as 28.7 inches wide and 7 inches thick, with a 153.6-inch total track.
  • The emergency stop and precision ruler are useful controls, but the listing does not specify included blades, a track extension, or a separate warranty.
9.0
Check Price Available at Amazon
6
MechMaxx SM-26 Trailer Combo
Mobile 26-inch package

MechMaxx SM-26 Trailer Combo

For owners who value the included trailer combo for moving a 26-inch mill; the 15HP electric-start engine is practical, but the stated 10-foot log length and 20-inch board width limit larger work.

  • The 459cc 15HP electric-start engine is paired with a 26-inch log limit, 20-inch maximum board width, and 7-inch thickness.
  • The 13-foot track is matched to logs up to 10 feet long, making it a focused option for shorter stems.
  • The trailer combo can simplify transport planning, but buyers still need to confirm site access and the exact trailer contents before delivery.
8.9
Check Price Available at Amazon
7
MechMaxx 26-Inch Portable Sawmill, 14HP
Long-track mid-size pick

MechMaxx 26-Inch Portable Sawmill, 14HP

For 26-inch milling where track reach matters more than maximum board width; its 20-foot track, Kohler engine, blades, and cant hook are useful, but output is limited to 20-inch boards.

  • The listed 429cc 14HP Kohler electric-start engine supports logs up to 26 inches in diameter and boards up to 20 inches wide and 7 inches thick.
  • A 20-foot track gives this smaller mill unusually long track reach for its size class.
  • Five blades and a log hook are listed, along with a two-year manufacturer warranty, but the listing does not state a maximum log length.
8.8
Check Price Available at Amazon
8
BILT HARD 26-Inch Portable Sawmill, 15HP
Balanced compact capacity

BILT HARD 26-Inch Portable Sawmill, 15HP

For small-scale sawyers who want a 26-inch frame with 22-inch board capacity; it offers electric start and a precision ruler, but the kit contents are less fully documented.

  • The 420cc 15HP electric-start engine is listed for logs up to 26 inches in diameter and 124 inches in length.
  • It produces boards up to 22 inches wide and 7 inches thick on a 157-inch track.
  • The 30.4-inch track width, thickness ruler, and handle-mounted emergency stop support a controlled setup, while blades and extensions are not stated as included.
8.7
Check Price Available at Amazon
9
MechMaxx SM-22 20-Foot Portable Sawmill
Small-log long-track value

MechMaxx SM-22 20-Foot Portable Sawmill

For occasional milling of logs up to 22 inches where long track reach matters; the 20-foot track is useful, but the 8.1HP recoil engine and 6-inch thickness rating limit the workload.

  • The 274cc 8.1HP recoil-start engine is matched to logs up to 22 inches in diameter and 10.4 feet long.
  • The mill lists an 18-inch maximum board width, 6-inch maximum thickness, and 20-foot track.
  • A two-year sawmill warranty and one-year engine warranty are listed, but recoil starting and lower capacity make it a better occasional-use match than a production-oriented choice.
8.5
Check Price Available at Amazon
10
MechMaxx SM-22 13-Foot Portable Sawmill
Compact entry pick

MechMaxx SM-22 13-Foot Portable Sawmill

For occasional small-log milling in a shorter frame; its 483-pound listed weight and simple 7HP recoil engine can suit modest work, but capacity and track reach are the lowest among the selected models.

  • The 224cc 7HP recoil-start engine is listed for logs up to 22 inches in diameter and 10 feet 5 inches long.
  • It produces boards up to 18 inches wide and 6 inches thick on a 13-foot track.
  • The shorter track and lower engine output make it easier to match to modest projects, but it is not the choice for wide slabs, long boards, or sustained milling.
8.1
Check Price Available at Amazon

Comparison Summary

Rank Product Best fit Key listed capacity Main tradeoff
1 BILT HARD 36-Inch Portable Sawmill, 25HP 760cc Large logs, wide slabs, repeated milling 36-inch logs, 36-inch boards, 7-inch thickness, 230-inch track Largest footprint and more demanding freight logistics
2 MechMaxx SM-32 20-Foot Portable Sawmill Long boards from substantial logs 32-inch logs, 26.5-inch boards, 7-inch thickness, 20-foot track Less board width and engine capacity than the 36-inch pick
3 MechMaxx SM-32 13-Foot Portable Sawmill 32-inch milling with a blade-heavy kit 32-inch logs, 26.5-inch boards, 7-inch thickness, 13-foot track Shorter stated log length than the long-track version
4 BILT HARD 32-Inch Portable Sawmill, 15HP Wider boards in a more compact 32-inch format 32-inch logs, 28.7-inch boards, 7-inch thickness, 153.6-inch track Shorter track and no blade count stated in the listing
5 BILT HARD 32-Inch Portable Sawmill, B&S 13.5HP Buyers who prefer the listed B&S engine 32-inch logs, 28.7-inch boards, 7-inch thickness Lower listed horsepower and fewer kit details
6 MechMaxx SM-26 Trailer Combo Mobile 26-inch milling with trailer equipment 26-inch logs, 20-inch boards, 7-inch thickness, 13-foot track Limited to roughly 10-foot logs and 20-inch boards
7 MechMaxx 26-Inch Portable Sawmill, 14HP Long-track 26-inch milling 26-inch logs, 20-inch boards, 7-inch thickness, 20-foot track Narrower output than the 32- and 36-inch options
8 BILT HARD 26-Inch Portable Sawmill, 15HP Compact 26-inch milling with a wider stated board limit 26-inch logs, 22-inch boards, 7-inch thickness, 157-inch track No included blade or extension package is stated
9 MechMaxx SM-22 20-Foot Portable Sawmill Smaller logs with long track reach 22-inch logs, 18-inch boards, 6-inch thickness, 20-foot track 8.1HP recoil-start engine limits its match to lighter work
10 MechMaxx SM-22 13-Foot Portable Sawmill Occasional small-log milling with a compact frame 22-inch logs, 18-inch boards, 6-inch thickness, 13-foot track Lowest engine output and shorter track in the shortlist

Buying Guide

Sizing and Capacity

Start with the largest log you routinely expect to mill, not an exceptional tree you may process once. The 36-inch BILT HARD is the capacity leader, with listed 36-inch logs and 36-inch boards. The 32-inch models split into two useful groups: the MechMaxx kits list 26.5-inch boards, while the BILT HARD versions list up to 28.7 inches. That difference matters for live-edge slabs and wide beams.

Track length is a separate decision. The MechMaxx SM-32 B0D5LXDYPW and MechMaxx 26-inch B0G1GYPBQX list 20-foot tracks, while the smaller B0GQB5M5C5 also uses a 20-foot track. The 13-foot models are better matched to shorter logs unless an extension is available. Do not treat a 20-foot track as a guaranteed 20-foot finished board: bed length, extension arrangement, log positioning, and the stated cutting length can differ.

Feature Tradeoffs

Electric start is common among the larger 26-, 32-, and 36-inch models and is the practical choice when the mill will be started repeatedly or positioned away from a workshop. The two MechMaxx SM-22 models use recoil start, which keeps their systems simpler but requires more manual starting effort.

Engine size should be matched to workload rather than used as a standalone quality score. The BILT HARD 36-inch model pairs a 760cc 25HP engine with the largest stated capacity. The 32-inch models use 13.5HP or 15HP engines, while the selected 26-inch models use 14HP or 15HP engines. The 22-inch models are lower-output choices for smaller logs and lighter schedules.

Included consumables also vary sharply. B0GMQKVKR1 and B0GQLY8T11 list 10 blades, while B0D5LXDYPW and B0G1GYPBQX list five blades plus a cant hook or log hook. Several BILT HARD listings do not state blade contents, so do not transfer the package from one listing to another.

Best For, Avoid If

Profile Recommended Product Why It Fits Avoid If
Large-log owner, slab maker, or small production sawyer BILT HARD 36-Inch Portable Sawmill, 25HP 760cc It has the highest stated capacity in the selection: 36-inch logs, 36-inch boards, 7-inch thickness, a 25HP electric-start engine, 230-inch track, and 10 blades. You mainly mill short, narrow logs or lack the space and freight access required for a large 36-inch machine.
Buyer prioritizing long boards from 32-inch logs MechMaxx SM-32 20-Foot Portable Sawmill The 20-foot track, 16.3-foot stated standard cutting length, five blades, cant hook, and 15HP electric-start engine make it the clearest long-board package. You regularly need boards wider than 26.5 inches or logs near the 36-inch class.
32-inch mill buyer who wants a substantial blade package MechMaxx SM-32 13-Foot Portable Sawmill It combines a 32-inch log limit, 26.5-inch board width, 15HP electric start, 13-foot track, and 10 included blades. Your normal logs approach 10 feet in length and you want the longer reach of a 20-foot track.
Mobile owner who wants a trailer combo with a mid-size mill MechMaxx SM-26 Trailer Combo The package includes a trailer combo and pairs a 15HP electric-start engine with a 26-inch log limit, 20-inch board width, and 13-foot track. You need boards wider than 20 inches, logs longer than the stated 10-foot limit, or a larger slab capacity.
Occasional miller working with smaller logs MechMaxx SM-22 20-Foot Portable Sawmill Its 22-inch capacity, 20-foot track, 18-inch board width, and stated two-year sawmill warranty make it a practical lower-capacity option for long-track projects. You want electric start, routinely mill logs above 22 inches, or need more than 6 inches of board thickness.

Key Specs to Compare

Compare these specifications in this order:

  • Log diameter and maximum log length: this defines whether the mill can accept your typical stems.
  • Maximum board width: this is more useful than log diameter when you mainly cut slabs, beams, or wide furniture stock.
  • Maximum board thickness: the selected models range from 6 to 7 inches.
  • Track length and included extension: a longer track can reduce repositioning for long logs, but it also increases the working footprint.
  • Engine and start system: note both displacement and horsepower, then distinguish electric start from recoil start.
  • Included blades, cant hooks, log hooks, and trailer equipment: these are kit-specific, not universal model features.
  • Warranty scope: some MechMaxx listings separate sawmill coverage from engine coverage, while several BILT HARD listings do not state a warranty in the supplied product information.

Setup and Handling Considerations

Plan the site before comparing machine prices. The selected mills are large, heavy machines, and the published dimensions range from compact 22-inch frames to very substantial 36-inch platforms. You need enough straight, level working room for the track, log loading, board removal, and any extension section. A 20-foot track is not merely a capacity number; it changes the space required around the mill.

Freight access can eliminate an otherwise suitable choice. Manufacturer information for the BILT HARD mills describes palletized freight and notes that residential delivery may require liftgate service, while a commercial address or freight-terminal pickup may be recommended. Confirm driveway access, unloading arrangements, and whether your property can accept heavy freight before ordering. The MechMaxx SM-26 trailer combo adds transport equipment to the package, but it does not remove the need to verify access and exact contents.

Maintenance and Longevity

The clearest ownership signals in this group are warranty scope, replacement-blade availability, and the exact engine fitted to the kit. B0D5LXDYPW lists two-year sawmill coverage and one-year engine coverage; B0G1GYPBQX lists a two-year manufacturer warranty; the MechMaxx SM-22 B0GQB5M5C5 lists two years for the sawmill and one year for the engine. Other listings provide less warranty detail, so confirm coverage before purchase.

Blades are consumables, and a larger initial blade package can reduce the first replacement decision without proving long-term durability. The product information does not establish a shared maintenance schedule across these models. Use the exact manual and engine documentation for service intervals, and verify that replacement blades, engine parts, and support are available for the precise model or bundle code.

Reliability Signals

Look for several signals together rather than treating one feature as proof of reliability. Electric start is a useful convenience for repeated operation. OHV four-stroke engines are listed across the range, but displacement and horsepower still differ substantially. A handle-mounted emergency stop appears on many models and is a meaningful control feature, while a precision ruler or measurement scale can help repeat board thickness settings.

Track width and bed construction also affect how confidently a mill can support large logs, but published dimensions do not demonstrate cutting accuracy under load. Warranty terms, clearly identified engine models, included handling tools, and a precise kit identity are stronger ownership signals than generic claims such as powerful, stable, or durable.

How to Compare Reviews

When reading reviews for one of these sawmills, match the exact ASIN, model number, engine, track length, and included package before applying a comment to your decision. A review of a 13-foot SM-32 should not automatically describe the 20-foot SM-32, and a 36-inch BILT HARD bundle with an extension should not be treated as the base configuration.

Give more weight to comments that identify log diameter, species, board width, track arrangement, blade replacement, starting behavior, freight delivery, or support responses. Separate a complaint about missing accessories from a complaint about the machine itself, and check whether the reviewer received the same blade or trailer package. Review volume or star averages cannot replace exact-model fit for your logs and site.

Common Mistakes

The most common mistake is equating log diameter with board width. The selected 32-inch mills illustrate the point: some list 26.5-inch boards and others list 28.7-inch boards. If you need wide live-edge slabs, compare the board-width figure directly.

Another mistake is assuming track length equals finished board length. The MechMaxx SM-32 B0D5LXDYPW lists a 20-foot track but a 16.3-foot standard cutting length, showing why the two figures should be read separately. Also avoid transferring blade counts, extensions, trailers, or warranty terms between listings with similar names.

Finally, do not overlook freight and site space. A large mill may fit your log capacity but fail at delivery if your driveway, unloading equipment, or working area is unsuitable. If your goal is occasional slab cutting rather than repeated dimensional lumber production, compare complete band mills with chainsaw-mill options as separate categories instead of assuming the largest track is automatically the best value.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do I need a 13-foot track or a 20-foot track?

Choose a 13-foot track when your normal logs are shorter and you want a smaller working footprint. Choose a 20-foot track when long logs and fewer repositioning steps matter. Track length is not identical to finished board length, so also check the listing’s stated cutting length.

Does a 32-inch or 36-inch log rating mean the mill makes boards that wide?

No. Log diameter and board width are separate limits. The selected 32-inch mills list board widths from 26.5 to 28.7 inches, while the BILT HARD 36-inch model lists boards up to 36 inches wide.

Which selected model is best for long boards and included handling tools?

The MechMaxx SM-32 20-Foot Portable Sawmill, ASIN B0D5LXDYPW, is the clearest match. Its product information lists a 20-foot track, 16.3-foot standard cutting length, five blades, and a cant hook.

What should I confirm before accepting delivery?

Confirm palletized-freight access, whether liftgate service is needed, whether a commercial address or terminal pickup is preferable, and whether your property has enough straight working room for the full track and any extension.

Are blades and extensions included with every portable sawmill?

No. Contents vary by exact listing and bundle. B0GMQKVKR1 and B0GQLY8T11 list 10 blades, B0D5LXDYPW lists five blades and a cant hook, and several BILT HARD listings do not state blade contents. Match the package to the exact ASIN before ordering.

Final Recommendation

The BILT HARD 36-Inch Portable Sawmill, 25HP 760cc is the best overall choice for buyers who regularly process large logs, wide slabs, or beams. Its listed 36-inch log and board capacity, 25HP electric-start engine, long track, and 10-blade package give it the broadest documented capability in this selection. The MechMaxx SM-32 20-Foot Portable Sawmill is the better alternative when long boards matter more than maximum width: it handles smaller logs than the BILT HARD 36-inch model but adds a clearly documented 20-foot track, five blades, and a cant hook.