10 Best Rolling Tool Chests

The best tool chest on wheels depends on where it will live, how far it must roll, and whether you need drawers, a detachable upper box, or a weather-resistant portable bin. This shortlist covers compact garage chests, large workshop cabinets, modular 2-in-1 designs, powered storage, and jobsite-ready rolling boxes. The CRAFTSMAN S1000 CMST82763BK is the strongest compact cabinet baseline, while the WEN GG532B suits a larger workshop and the CRAFTSMAN VERSASTACK CMST17870 is better for portable, closed storage than for drawer-based organization.

The ranking prioritizes documented fit for a specific buyer rather than maximum size alone. The main checks are storage format, footprint, drawer organization, mobility, caster locks, stated load capacity, locking design, included equipment, assembly demands, and compatibility with the intended garage, workshop, vehicle route, or jobsite. One-piece cabinets receive credit for rigidity and straightforward daily access; detachable designs receive credit for carrying a smaller tool selection separately. Portable boxes are judged as portable boxes, not downgraded because they lack workshop-style drawers. Published specifications and manufacturer documentation are kept distinct from marketing descriptions, and material conflicts or missing capacity figures remain visible.

Advertising Disclosure Beverly House Estate participates in affiliate programs, including the Amazon Associates Program. We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this site, at no extra cost to you.

Top-rated Comparison

Our Top 10 Picks

2
WEN GG532B 52-Inch Rolling Tool Cabinet
Best large cabinet foundation

WEN GG532B 52-Inch Rolling Tool Cabinet

For a growing workshop that needs deep drawer capacity and high-rated slides, this WEN cabinet is a strong foundation, but it is a heavy bottom cabinet rather than a complete chest-and-cabinet combo.

  • It has nine lockable soft-close drawers with a listed 100-pound capacity per drawer and 21-gauge powder-coated steel construction.
  • The 52-by-18-by-37-inch cabinet weighs 212 pounds and uses 5-by-2-inch casters with a listed 1,500-pound capacity, so placement and floor access matter.
  • The product is designed to pair with the WEN GG531T 52-inch chest; buyers wanting an included upper chest should choose a combo instead.
9.5
Check Price Available at Amazon
3
CRAFTSMAN VERSASTACK CMST17870
Best portable closed storage

CRAFTSMAN VERSASTACK CMST17870

For contractors and vehicle-to-jobsite movement, this 30-gallon rolling chest offers quick access and conditional IP54 protection, but it does not provide the drawer organization of a cabinet.

  • The half-lid provides access without removing stacked VERSASTACK units, and the telescopic handle and heavy-duty wheels support portable movement.
  • The product information lists a 110-pound capacity and an integrated padlock eye for securing contents.
  • The IP54 statement applies with the lid closed, latches locked, and chest upright; it is not a promise of protection while open or tipped.
9.3
Check Price Available at Amazon
4
WORKPRO W082134AE 62-Inch Rolling Tool Chest
Best workshop workstation

WORKPRO W082134AE 62-Inch Rolling Tool Chest

For a dedicated garage or repair space that needs a work surface plus broad storage, this WORKPRO offers a substantial cabinet, but its 62-inch span and 232.59-pound weight demand careful placement.

  • The layout combines seven drawers and two doors with a 1-3/8-inch wooden workbench top, cushioned liners, ball-bearing slides, and a locking system.
  • The product title lists a 1,000-pound capacity, while four braked swivel casters and two side handles support repositioning within a workshop.
  • Its large footprint is useful for a permanent work area but poorly suited to narrow garages, stairs, or frequent vehicle loading.
9.2
Check Price Available at Amazon
5
CRAFTSMAN CMST98276GB Powered Tool Chest
Best integrated power setup

CRAFTSMAN CMST98276GB Powered Tool Chest

For a garage user who wants tool storage and charging access in one station, this CRAFTSMAN adds outlets and USB ports, but its 150-pound body and four-drawer layout are substantial tradeoffs.

  • The 30-by-22-by-41.38-inch cabinet has four drawers, four 5-by-2-inch swivel casters, integrated pegboard sides, and a keyed internal locking system.
  • The listing states support for up to 700 pounds and includes six power outlets plus USB-A and USB-C-compatible ports.
  • A 10-year limited warranty is listed, but the cabinet is much heavier than compact rolling chests and offers fewer drawers than several alternatives.
9.0
Check Price Available at Amazon
6
VEVOR TBC112015 2-in-1 Rolling Tool Chest
Best detachable flexibility

VEVOR TBC112015 2-in-1 Rolling Tool Chest

For home mechanics who want to separate a smaller tool selection from the rolling base, this VEVOR provides confirmed 2-in-1 flexibility, though its total load capacity is not stated.

  • The upper chest and rolling cabinet can be used together or separately, with cold-rolled steel, powder coating, EVA padding, and a locking bar for the drawers and cabinet doors.
  • Four 360-degree swivel casters are included, with two brakes; the manufacturer lists an 18-by-10-by-2.5-inch large drawer and 15-by-8-by-1.5-inch small drawers.
  • The 23.6-by-11-by-40.9-inch, 41.67-pound format is easier to move than a full-size cabinet, but buyers should not assume workshop-level capacity.
8.9
Check Price Available at Amazon
7
INTERGREAT 8-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest
Best drawer-count specialist

INTERGREAT 8-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest

For users who organize many hand tools by size, this INTERGREAT provides eight drawers plus cabinet and external hanging storage, but the tall design has no stated overall load rating.

  • The eight-drawer layout includes two large, three medium, and three small drawers, along with a top layer, bottom cabinet, liners, hooks, and tool holes in the side handle.
  • The detachable top box can separate from the lower rolling cabinet, while an adjustable or removable shelf accommodates larger items.
  • At 24.13 by 13 by 42.5 inches and 60.18 pounds, it offers vertical organization but needs adequate height and clearance.
8.8
Check Price Available at Amazon
8
Goplus 5-Drawer Tool Chest
Best lightweight 2-in-1

Goplus 5-Drawer Tool Chest

For a lighter home-garage setup that benefits from a detachable top and adjustable lower storage, this Goplus is easy to reposition, but its total load rating is not published here.

  • The 23.5-by-11-by-40-inch cabinet has five drawers, two trays, a detachable toolbox, an adjustable or removable lower shelf, and movable hooks.
  • Four universal wheels include two brakes, while a lock bar prevents drawers and the cabinet door from opening during movement.
  • The listed 38-pound weight makes it one of the easier cabinets to move, but it is better suited to moderate tool collections than heavy shop loading.
8.7
Check Price Available at Amazon
9
LARBANKE lar07c Blue 7-Drawer Tool Chest
Best compact linked cabinet

LARBANKE lar07c Blue 7-Drawer Tool Chest

For a compact garage or office workshop that may grow into a linked workstation, this LARBANKE adds connection buckles and padded mobility, but its published dimension fields should be verified.

  • The listing describes seven drawers, a stainless steel top, drawer liners, a keyed lock, 360-degree swivel wheels with brakes, and four padded feet.
  • Connection buckles allow additional LARBANKE chests to be linked, which is useful for expanding storage without replacing the first cabinet.
  • The feature text gives overall dimensions of 25.9 by 13.6 by 29 inches, while another specification field lists 2.99 inches as a length; confirm the actual footprint before ordering.
8.6
Check Price Available at Amazon
10
Maxority AMAX2207-PRO
Best straightforward seven-drawer cart

Maxority AMAX2207-PRO

For a buyer who wants a conventional steel seven-drawer cart without a large workstation footprint, this Maxority offers ball-bearing drawers and lockable mobility, but load ratings are not stated.

  • The 24-by-13-by-30-inch cabinet has seven drawers, high-quality steel construction, smooth ball-bearing slides, and four lockable swivel wheels.
  • The product listing identifies a 60-pound cart with storage for hand tools and smaller parts, making it more manageable than full-size workshop cabinets.
  • There is no stated total or per-drawer capacity, so heavy power tools should be distributed conservatively rather than loaded by drawer count alone.
8.5
Check Price Available at Amazon

Comparison Summary

These picks cover different rolling-storage jobs rather than forcing every buyer into the same cabinet style.

Rank Product Best fit Main tradeoff
1 CRAFTSMAN S1000 CMST82763BK Compact garage storage Conflicting published storage figures require confirmation
2 WEN GG532B Large workshop cabinet Heavy cabinet; matching upper chest is separate
3 CRAFTSMAN VERSASTACK CMST17870 Portable closed storage Uses an open chest format instead of drawers
4 WORKPRO W082134AE Full-size workshop workstation Very large and heavy footprint
5 CRAFTSMAN CMST98276GB Powered garage storage Four drawers and a 150-pound cabinet
6 VEVOR TBC112015 Detachable 2-in-1 organization Total load capacity is not stated in the supplied product information
7 INTERGREAT 8-Drawer Rolling Tool Chest High drawer count on a moderate footprint Tall cabinet with no stated total load rating
8 Goplus 5-Drawer Tool Chest Lightweight detachable storage No stated total load rating
9 LARBANKE lar07c Compact linked storage Published dimension fields need confirmation
10 Maxority AMAX2207-PRO Straightforward seven-drawer value No stated total or per-drawer load rating

Buying Guide

Sizing and Capacity

Start with the route and the tool collection, not the drawer count. A 52-inch WEN cabinet and a 62-inch WORKPRO workstation need a permanent wall or floor position, while the 26-inch CRAFTSMAN S1000, 24-inch Maxority, and compact LARBANKE cabinet fit smaller work areas more naturally. Check doorways, turning space, drawer extension, and the clearance needed to stand beside the chest.

Capacity also means usable organization. The CRAFTSMAN S1000 supplies five drawers with published total and per-drawer ratings. The WEN offers nine 100-pound drawers, while the WORKPRO combines seven drawers with two doors and a work surface. The VERSASTACK is different: its 30-gallon volume favors larger loose items and portable storage, not small-part sorting.

Detachable models such as the VEVOR, INTERGREAT, and Goplus can separate the upper chest from the rolling base. That is useful when a smaller tool selection must travel to a bench, but buyers should confirm how much weight the complete unit can safely carry because the supplied product information does not state total capacity for those models.

Feature Tradeoffs

Drawer cabinets provide the fastest organization for sockets, wrenches, and small parts, especially when slides, liners, and locks are clearly specified. The CRAFTSMAN S1000 and WEN GG532B have the clearest drawer-load information in this group. The WORKPRO adds a large work surface and doors, making it more like a workstation than a simple chest.

A detachable 2-in-1 design trades some one-piece simplicity for flexibility. VEVOR, INTERGREAT, and Goplus can be divided into an upper box and lower rolling section, which helps when tools need to move separately. The tradeoff is that buyers should not assume a detachable cabinet has the same rigidity or load handling as a large fixed cabinet.

The VERSASTACK favors closed storage, quick access, stacking compatibility, and conditional IP54 protection. It is the better format for transport and changing locations, while the powered CRAFTSMAN CMST98276GB is better for a fixed garage station where outlets and USB ports are useful. Neither is the universal answer for a drawer-focused mechanic.

Best For, Avoid If

Profile Recommended Product Why It Fits Avoid If
Home mechanic with a compact garage and mostly hand tools CRAFTSMAN S1000 CMST82763BK The CRAFTSMAN S1000 combines a chest and cabinet, lists 300 pounds of total capacity and 30 pounds per drawer, and uses locking swivel casters. You need verified high-volume storage, a weather-resistant portable box, or more than the documented five-drawer layout.
Workshop owner building a large drawer-based storage wall WEN GG532B 52-Inch Rolling Tool Cabinet The WEN provides nine lockable soft-close drawers with a listed 100-pound capacity per drawer and a heavy-duty 52-inch cabinet. You need a complete chest-and-cabinet combo in one purchase or must move the unit through tight spaces.
Contractor moving tools between a vehicle and jobsite CRAFTSMAN VERSASTACK CMST17870 The CRAFTSMAN VERSASTACK offers 30 gallons of closed storage, quick-access lid operation, heavy-duty wheels, and conditional IP54 protection. You need individually organized drawers for sockets, fasteners, and small hand tools.
Dedicated garage user who wants storage plus a workbench WORKPRO W082134AE 62-Inch Rolling Tool Chest The WORKPRO combines seven drawers, two doors, a thick wooden workbench top, braked casters, and a listed 1,000-pound capacity. Your garage cannot accommodate a 62-inch workstation or a listed 232.59-pound cabinet.
Home user who carries a smaller tool set to different benches VEVOR TBC112015 2-in-1 Rolling Tool Chest The VEVOR separates into an upper chest and rolling cabinet and provides specified drawer dimensions, EVA padding, and two braked casters. You require a published total load rating or the rigidity of a large one-piece professional cabinet.
Garage user who wants built-in charging and power access CRAFTSMAN CMST98276GB Powered Tool Chest The CRAFTSMAN CMST98276GB adds six outlets, USB-compatible ports, pegboard sides, a keyed lock, and a listed 700-pound support capacity. You prefer a lighter cabinet with more than four drawers or need easy relocation.

Key Specs to Compare

Compare the dimensions in the same order every time: overall width, depth, height, weight, drawer count, and usable compartment type. Then check the details that affect real handling:

  • Load ratings: CRAFTSMAN S1000 lists 300 pounds total and 30 pounds per drawer; WEN lists 100 pounds per drawer and 1,500-pound caster capacity; WORKPRO lists 1,000 pounds overall; CRAFTSMAN CMST98276GB lists support for up to 700 pounds. Do not treat a caster or cabinet rating as a per-drawer rating.
  • Mobility: four swivel casters suit smooth garage floors, while brakes help hold position. The VEVOR, Goplus, INTERGREAT, and LARBANKE models list four wheels with two brakes. The CRAFTSMAN S1000 specifies 3-by-1-inch casters with two locking swivel casters.
  • Security: determine whether the lock secures all drawers, the cabinet, a lid, or only a bar. The VERSASTACK uses an integrated padlock eye, while several drawer cabinets specify keyed locks or locking bars.
  • Protection: VERSASTACK’s IP54 statement is conditional on being closed, latched, and upright. Powder coating and liners help with everyday storage, but they are not interchangeable with a weather rating.
  • Included equipment: the CRAFTSMAN S1000 includes a liner roll, the VEVOR includes EVA protection and storage accessories, and the WORKPRO includes a wooden workbench top and liners. Confirm whether an upper chest is included; the WEN GG532B is a bottom cabinet intended to pair with a separate chest.

Setup and Handling Considerations

Check how the chest arrives before planning the installation area. The CRAFTSMAN S1000 ships with the chest inside the cabinet. VEVOR and Goplus describe pre-assembled or mostly assembled formats that still require accessories such as casters, shelves, racks, or handles. The INTERGREAT is also a detachable upper-and-lower arrangement, so measure the lifting path before assembly.

Weight changes the practical choice. The WEN weighs 212 pounds, the WORKPRO listing gives 232.59 pounds, and the powered CRAFTSMAN weighs 150 pounds. Those models belong in a prepared workshop location rather than at the end of a narrow vehicle route. The Goplus, VEVOR, and CRAFTSMAN VERSASTACK are easier choices when repositioning matters, although the VERSASTACK’s contents remain in a chest rather than separated drawers.

Before loading, roll the empty unit through its intended path, confirm the drawers can open fully, and use caster brakes whenever the cabinet is being used as a stationary work surface. For detachable models, decide whether the upper box will be carried separately often enough to justify the added flexibility.

Maintenance and Longevity

Powder-coated steel appears across the drawer cabinets and is useful for a wipe-clean surface, while liners help reduce tool-to-metal contact. The VEVOR lists EVA padding, the CRAFTSMAN S1000 includes a liner roll, and several models list drawer liners or protective padding. Keep heavy items low and distribute them across drawers instead of concentrating weight in one extended drawer.

Use the product’s protection claims within their stated limits. The VERSASTACK’s IP54 rating applies only when closed, latched, and upright; it should not be treated as an open-weather work surface. Rust-resistant finishes, metal latches, and powder coating support ordinary storage, but exposed chests still need appropriate placement and closed storage when not in use.

For long-term value, prioritize replaceable or clearly specified wear points: ball-bearing slides, caster size, locking hardware, liners, and handles. The WEN’s listed two-year warranty and CRAFTSMAN CMST98276GB’s listed 10-year limited warranty are useful documentation signals, but they do not replace checking the cabinet’s size, load limits, and intended environment.

Reliability Signals

The strongest published reliability signals are specific construction and handling details rather than broad durability language. Look for steel gauge or material, drawer-slide type, caster dimensions, load ratings, wheel locks, drawer retention, and a clear lock description. The CRAFTSMAN S1000 identifies 20- to 24-gauge steel, ball-bearing slides, casters, and drawer ratings. The WEN identifies 21-gauge steel, soft-close drawers, and 100-pound drawer ratings.

A complete specification is also a reliability signal. The WORKPRO states its 1,000-pound capacity and includes a worktop, liners, braked casters, and locking system. The VERSASTACK explains the conditions attached to its IP54 rating. By contrast, VEVOR, Goplus, INTERGREAT, LARBANKE, and Maxority provide useful construction and organization details but do not state the same kind of overall or per-drawer capacity information.

Treat inconsistent records as a reason to verify before purchase. The CRAFTSMAN S1000 storage figure differs between the listing and manufacturer documentation, and the LARBANKE lar07c dimension fields do not fully agree. Those products can still fit the right buyer, but the unresolved detail matters when space is tight.

How to Compare Reviews

Match every review to the exact model and configuration before using it. Similar-looking rolling chests can differ in drawer count, wheel size, included upper box, and lock design. A comment about the VEVOR TBC112015 should not be applied to the Goplus five-drawer chest, and a review of the WEN GG532B cabinet should not be treated as a review of a complete WEN chest-and-cabinet combination.

For drawer cabinets, focus on reports about drawer alignment, slide smoothness under realistic tool loads, caster tracking, brake effectiveness, lock operation, packaging damage, and whether the listed accessories arrived. For detachable models, look for comments about separating the upper chest, lifting it safely, and keeping the two sections stable when reunited.

For the VERSASTACK, compare reviews from buyers using it as a portable closed chest rather than expecting drawer behavior. For the WORKPRO and WEN, prioritize reports from users with enough floor space and a similar workshop layout. A review is most useful when the buyer’s route, tool mix, and loading pattern resemble yours.

Common Mistakes

The most common mistake is choosing the largest chest without measuring the working area. Large cabinets can block walking paths, prevent full drawer extension, or become difficult to move once loaded. Measure the chest, the caster turning area, and the space needed to stand in front of open drawers.

Do not compare drawer count alone. Five deep drawers, nine rated drawers, seven drawers plus doors, and a 30-gallon open chest serve different storage needs. Match drawer depth and compartment type to the tools you actually own, including bulky cases and long-handled items.

Do not assume every lock secures every compartment, and do not assume every wheel is a brake. Check the exact lock-bar or keyed-lock description and the number of braked casters.

Finally, do not treat a weather rating as permission to work with the chest open in rain. The VERSASTACK’s IP54 protection is tied to closed, latched, upright storage. Likewise, do not infer a total load rating for VEVOR, Goplus, INTERGREAT, LARBANKE, or Maxority when the product information does not state one.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is a detachable tool chest better than a one-piece rolling cabinet?

Choose detachable construction when carrying a smaller tool selection separately is important. Choose a one-piece cabinet when maximum rigidity, continuous storage, and stationary workshop use matter more. VEVOR, INTERGREAT, and Goplus emphasize separation, while the WEN and WORKPRO emphasize large fixed storage.

What is the best rolling tool chest for a small garage?

The CRAFTSMAN S1000 CMST82763BK is the strongest compact baseline because it combines a chest and cabinet, lists total and per-drawer capacity, and uses locking swivel casters. Confirm the storage-volume figure before ordering because the product listing and manufacturer documentation disagree.

Are rolling tool chests weatherproof?

Only use a stated protection rating within its conditions. The CRAFTSMAN VERSASTACK CMST17870 lists IP54 protection when the chest is closed, latched, and upright. The other selected cabinets emphasize steel, powder coating, liners, or rust-resistant components rather than an equivalent weather rating.

How much space should I leave around a rolling tool chest?

Allow enough room to roll the chest into position, open drawers fully, stand in front of them, and turn the casters. Large models such as the 52-inch WEN and 62-inch WORKPRO need a planned workshop location, while compact models still require drawer and handle clearance.

Final Recommendation

Choose the CRAFTSMAN S1000 CMST82763BK for the best all-around compact rolling tool chest: it combines a chest and cabinet, provides five drawers, lists 300 pounds of total capacity and 30 pounds per drawer, and uses locking swivel casters. Confirm its storage volume before buying because the product listing and manufacturer documentation report different figures. If your priority is moving a closed tool load between a vehicle and changing work locations, the CRAFTSMAN VERSASTACK CMST17870 is the better alternative because its 30-gallon quick-access format, telescopic handle, heavy-duty wheels, and conditional IP54 protection are designed for portable storage rather than drawer organization.