10 Best Home Safes

The best home safe depends on what you are protecting and which threat matters most. A safe with a recognized fire and water rating is a different purchase from a steel security box with a keypad, while a fireproof document bag is not equivalent to a fire-tested safe body. This guide compares compact fire safes, large-capacity models, keypad and biometric locks, and general-purpose residential security safes so you can match protection, access and installation to your home.

The ranking prioritizes model-specific evidence for fire and water protection, usable capacity, lock behavior, emergency access, anchoring options, organization and practical handling. Recognized UL or ETL claims carry more weight for fire and water decisions than unqualified fireproof language. Capacity is judged alongside interior dimensions and shelf design, not cubic-foot figures alone. General steel construction and locking bolts can support everyday access control, but they are not treated as a recognized burglary-resistance rating. Existing battery preferences, backup access and whether a safe includes mounting hardware also affect suitability.

Advertising Disclosure Beverly House Estate participates in affiliate programs, including the Amazon Associates Program. We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this site, at no extra cost to you.

Top-rated Comparison

Our Top 10 Picks

2
SentrySafe SFW123DSB
Best dial-lock fire safe

SentrySafe SFW123DSB

For infrequent access and buyers avoiding electronic batteries; the tradeoff is slower dial operation and a capacity discrepancy between published listings.

  • UL classified for one hour at 1700°F and ETL verified for 24-hour water protection up to 8 inches deep.
  • Uses a factory-set combination dial with dual-key access, four live-locking bolts, a shelf and bolt-down hardware.
  • The product listing says 1.23 cu. ft., while SentrySafe model information says 1.19 cu. ft.; both provide stated interior dimensions of 12.6 by 11.9 by 13.8 inches.
9.6
Check Price Available at Amazon
3
SentrySafe 1160
Best compact fire safe

SentrySafe 1160

For passports, papers and small valuables in a portable format; the tradeoff is limited capacity and no equivalent published water rating.

  • UL classified for 30 minutes at 1550°F, with the official model information describing a 3.8 by 13 by 8.6-inch interior.
  • A keyed privacy lock avoids battery management, and carrying grips make the 16.9-pound box easier to move.
  • The 0.25-cu.-ft. size suits compact document storage but will not accommodate bulky binders, larger electronics or extensive jewelry collections.
9.0
Check Price Available at Amazon
4
Amazon Basics 50SAM
Best large general-purpose safe

Amazon Basics 50SAM

For households needing substantial organized storage without a stated fire or water rating; the tradeoff is that its keypad security should not be confused with tested disaster protection.

  • Provides a listed 1.8 cu. ft. of storage with an interior shelf for documents, jewelry, cash and devices.
  • Uses a programmable electronic keypad, backup key and two live-door bolts with a heavy steel door and concealed hinges.
  • Pre-drilled mounting holes and included expansion bolts support wall, floor or shelf installation, but the listing does not state a recognized fire or water test.
8.9
Check Price Available at Amazon
5
Amazon Basics 25EI
Best everyday keypad value

Amazon Basics 25EI

For everyday document and valuables storage where compact installation matters; the tradeoff is no stated fire or water protection and a smaller 0.5-cu.-ft. interior.

  • Includes an electronic lock, two emergency override keys, a removable shelf and carpeted floor protection.
  • Pre-drilled mounting holes and four expansion bolts allow mounting to a wall, floor or shelf.
  • The 13.6 by 7.2 by 9.7-inch interior fits smaller valuables, but the 18.26-pound body makes secure anchoring especially important.
8.8
Check Price Available at Amazon
6
DAYI D-45
Best organized large keypad safe

DAYI D-45

For users who want 2.0 cu. ft. of organized storage, an alarm and a supplemental document bag; the tradeoff is no stated independent fire test for the safe body.

  • Offers two removable shelves, built-in hooks and an interior LED light for arranging documents and valuables.
  • The digital keypad accepts a 3–8 digit code and includes a physical backup key; the listing also describes a 70-decibel alarm after repeated incorrect entries or forced entry.
  • The included fireproof and waterproof bag adds separate document protection, but published information does not establish the safe itself as fire- or water-tested.
8.7
Check Price Available at Amazon
7
Mitlvge 60ET
Best high-capacity document storage

Mitlvge 60ET

For households storing many folders, devices and valuables in one tall cabinet; the tradeoff is a large footprint, a relatively light 38.8-pound body and bag-based rather than body-tested fire protection.

  • Lists 5.0 cu. ft. of capacity, three removable steel shelves and dimensions of 12.2 by 15 by 23.62 inches.
  • Includes a document bag described as resisting 1700°F for 30 minutes, but that claim applies to the bag rather than a stated fire rating for the safe body.
  • A digital keypad, backup key, alarm, silent mode and sensor light improve access convenience, while anchoring is important for a tall safe of this weight.
8.6
Check Price Available at Amazon
8
FOWORE ZQ
Best extra-large biometric capacity

FOWORE ZQ

For offices or households needing 8.2 cu. ft. and multiple access methods; the tradeoff is a very large cabinet with no pre-drilled mounting holes and no stated body fire rating.

  • Provides adjustable shelves, an interior lock box and a hidden compartment for large-scale organization.
  • Supports fingerprint, keypad and backup-key access, with a listed Type-C emergency-power option, alarm and silent mode.
  • The listing includes a fireproof bag but says the 78-pound safe has no pre-drilled holes; anyone needing anchoring must drill them independently.
8.5
Check Price Available at Amazon
9
Grimtron GM02
Best biometric compact safe

Grimtron GM02

For quick daily access to smaller valuables through fingerprint or PIN entry; the tradeoff is no stated fire or water rating and continued dependence on backup access if the electronics fail.

  • The biometric scanner stores up to 30 fingerprints, while the keypad accepts a 3–8 digit PIN and includes two emergency override keys.
  • An illuminated keypad, silent mode, interior LED and removable shelf improve nighttime access and organization.
  • The compact 13.78 by 9.84 by 9.84-inch format fits bedrooms, offices and closets, but it is intended for smaller items rather than document-heavy storage.
8.5
Check Price Available at Amazon
10
Bonsaii SF002-N
Best flexible backup access

Bonsaii SF002-N

For compact home, office or hotel-style storage with keypad and Type-C emergency power; the tradeoff is that the backup power bank and cable are not included and no fire rating is stated.

  • Lists 0.6 cu. ft. of capacity, a removable shelf, felt-lined bottom and two 18 mm active locking bolts.
  • Provides code entry, emergency override keys and Type-C backup power when the internal batteries are depleted.
  • Pre-drilled mounting holes and expansion screws support concealed installation, while the 13.9-pound body makes anchoring important.
8.4
Check Price Available at Amazon

Comparison Summary

SentrySafe’s SFW123GDC and SFW123DSB are the strongest all-around choices because their published model information identifies UL fire classification for one hour at up to 1700°F and ETL water resistance for up to 8 inches of water for 24 hours. The GDC uses a digital keypad, while the DSB uses a combination dial with dual-key access. Both are large, heavy safes with interior dimensions suitable for folders, documents and some digital media, but their size requires careful placement and anchoring.

Buying Guide

Sizing and Capacity

Compare interior dimensions before cubic-foot capacity. The SFW123GDC and SFW123DSB have stated interiors of 12.6 by 11.9 by 13.8 inches, making them better for folders and media than compact boxes. The SentrySafe 1160 has a 3.8 by 13 by 8.6-inch interior and is better for passports, certificates, cash and small valuables. The Amazon Basics 25EI, Grimtron GM02 and Bonsaii SF002-N are compact general-security options for jewelry, small electronics and household documents.

For larger collections, the Amazon Basics 50SAM lists 1.8 cu. ft., DAYI lists 2.0 cu. ft., Mitlvge lists 5.0 cu. ft. and FOWORE lists 8.2 cu. ft. Shelves improve organization but can reduce the uninterrupted space available for binders or larger devices. Measure the largest item, the route into the room and the door-opening area before choosing a tall or deep safe. The SFW123GDC listing specifies 14.75 inches of door clearance for full opening.

Feature Tradeoffs

Fire, water and burglary protection are separate decisions. The SFW123GDC and SFW123DSB have the clearest published disaster-protection claims: one-hour UL fire classification at up to 1700°F and ETL water resistance for up to 8 inches of water for 24 hours. The SentrySafe 1160 has a shorter UL fire classification of 30 minutes at up to 1550°F, but its published model information does not provide the same water rating.

Several other picks include a fireproof or waterproof bag. That is supplemental document protection, not proof that the safe body has passed a fire or water test. The DAYI, Mitlvge and FOWORE models are therefore better viewed as organized security safes with added bag protection. Keyed and dial locks reduce battery dependence, while electronic and biometric locks offer faster access but require dependable batteries, emergency keys or backup power.

Best For, Avoid If

Profile Recommended Product Why It Fits Avoid If
Homeowners protecting documents and digital media from fire and water who want keypad access. SentrySafe SFW123GDC The SFW123GDC combines a one-hour UL fire classification, 24-hour ETL water protection, a 1.23-cu.-ft. listed capacity and bolt-down hardware. Avoid it if you want a lock with no battery dependence or have no suitable floor space for its large, heavy body.
Infrequent users who want large fire and water protection without an electronic keypad. SentrySafe SFW123DSB The SFW123DSB uses a factory-set combination dial with dual-key access and carries the same stated fire and water conditions as the GDC. Avoid it if rapid code entry matters or if you need a fully consistent published capacity figure; retailer and official information differ.
Apartment residents or households storing a small set of documents and valuables. SentrySafe 1160 The 1160 offers a compact keyed format and a specific 30-minute UL fire classification at 1550°F. Avoid it if you need water protection, large binders or room for multiple electronics and jewelry boxes.
Families needing organized everyday storage for a broad collection of valuables without a stated fire rating. Amazon Basics 50SAM The Amazon Basics 50SAM provides 1.8 cu. ft., a shelf, keypad entry, backup key and mounting hardware. Avoid it if fire or water protection is a primary requirement rather than general access control.
Users who open a compact safe frequently and prefer fingerprint or PIN access. Grimtron GM02 The Grimtron GM02 stores up to 30 fingerprints and adds PIN, override-key, lighting and silent-mode features. Avoid it if you need independently stated fire or water protection or storage for large document folders.
Households or small offices needing tall, high-volume storage for documents and mixed valuables. Mitlvge 60ET The Mitlvge 60ET lists 5.0 cu. ft., three removable shelves, a sensor light and a supplemental document bag. Avoid it if you need a tested fire-rated safe body, a compact footprint or included anchoring holes.

Key Specs to Compare

Check the exact model number, exterior dimensions, interior dimensions, weight, capacity and door-clearance requirement. Then compare the lock type: keyed, factory-set dial, programmable keypad or biometric reader. Confirm whether override keys are included, whether batteries are included, what battery type is required and whether external emergency power is supported.

Look separately for UL or ETL identification, the test duration, temperature and water depth. A listing that says steel construction, pry-resistant hinges or live-locking bolts is describing physical features, not a recognized burglary-resistance rating. Also check shelves, drawers, lighting, silent mode, hooks and interior padding if the safe will hold jewelry, electronics or items that can be scratched.

Setup and Handling Considerations

Plan the installation location before delivery. Heavy safes such as the SentrySafe models are difficult to reposition, while lighter models are easier to place but benefit even more from anchoring. The SFW123GDC, SFW123DSB, Amazon Basics 25EI and Amazon Basics 50SAM list mounting points or hardware. Grimtron and Bonsaii also list pre-drilled mounting provisions. The FOWORE listing specifically says it has no pre-drilled holes, so mounting requires a separate drilling decision.

Keep emergency keys in a secure location separate from the safe, and record the model-specific access procedure before storing important items. For electronic models, install the recommended batteries and confirm that the keypad, override method and any backup-power method work in the chosen location. Do not assume a shelf, bag or accessory makes the full safe suitable for a particular document size.

Maintenance and Longevity

Electronic safes need a battery plan. The SentrySafe SFW123GDC recommends four high-quality, name-brand alkaline AAA batteries with an expiration date 8–10 years from the current year. Other electronic models specify AA batteries or do not identify the battery type in the supplied product information, so check the exact manual before buying replacements. Replace batteries before they are depleted and keep the emergency access method available.

Dial and keyed models avoid routine keypad battery dependence, which can suit buyers who open the safe infrequently. Warranty and replacement language also varies: the GDC specifications list a limited one-year warranty, the SFW123DSB listing describes replacement after fire or water damage, and the 1160 product information describes a lifetime after-fire replacement guarantee. Confirm the current terms for the exact model before relying on them.

Reliability Signals

The strongest reliability signal in this group is a specific, recognized test claim tied to an exact model. The SFW123GDC and SFW123DSB provide the clearest fire and water evidence, while the 1160 provides a specific fire classification. For the remaining models, published information supports comparisons of locks, bolts, shelves, lights, capacity and mounting features, but it does not establish a body-level fire or water rating.

Treat generic phrases such as maximum security, heavy-duty steel and pry-resistant as feature descriptions rather than test results. Also watch for model-variant confusion. The SFW123DSB has a capacity discrepancy between retailer and official model information, so its interior dimensions are the safer planning reference. The same principle applies whenever a listing title and a specification field describe different sizes.

How to Compare Reviews

When reading reviews for a safe, filter for the exact model and lock variant rather than treating comments about a brand family as interchangeable. For keypad models, look for specific discussion of battery access, override-key storage, code setup and whether the door opens smoothly after installation. For biometric models such as the Grimtron GM02 and FOWORE ZQ, check whether comments concern the actual fingerprint reader and backup methods rather than general expectations about biometric locks.

For large safes, prioritize reports that identify the exact interior fit, shelf arrangement, door clearance and mounting location. For the SentrySafe fire-rated models, review comments should be used to clarify handling and access questions, not to replace the published UL and ETL conditions. A review cannot turn a fireproof bag into a body-level fire rating or establish a burglary classification that the product information does not state.

Common Mistakes

The most common mistake is buying a safe because its listing says fireproof when the fire protection applies only to an included bag. Choose the SFW123GDC, SFW123DSB or 1160 when a stated body-level fire claim is central; treat the DAYI, Mitlvge and FOWORE bags as supplemental protection.

Do not choose by cubic feet alone. Confirm that folders, devices, jewelry boxes or other valuables fit through the door and around the shelves. Do not ignore anchoring, especially with compact or lightweight electronic models. Finally, do not assume a biometric lock is automatically more secure than a dial or keypad. It is primarily an access-convenience choice, and it still needs a dependable backup method.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does a fireproof bag make a regular security safe fireproof?

No. A bag protects the items inside the bag under its own stated conditions. It does not establish that the surrounding safe body has passed an independent fire test. The SentrySafe SFW123GDC, SFW123DSB and 1160 have specific published fire classifications; the bags included with other models should be treated as supplemental protection.

Should I choose a dial, keypad or biometric lock?

Choose a dial or keyed lock when the safe will be opened infrequently and avoiding batteries matters. Choose a keypad for faster everyday access, provided you can manage batteries and emergency keys. Choose biometric access when quick fingerprint entry is useful, but keep the PIN or physical key available because the reader still depends on power and successful recognition.

How much safe capacity do I need?

Measure your largest folder, device or jewelry container and compare it with the stated interior dimensions. Compact models such as the SentrySafe 1160 and Grimtron GM02 suit small valuables. The SentrySafe SFW123GDC and SFW123DSB are better for household documents and media, while the Mitlvge 60ET and FOWORE ZQ are intended for much larger collections.

Does every home safe need to be anchored?

Anchoring is especially important for lighter safes that could be moved more easily and for tall cabinets that could be destabilized. Check whether the exact model includes pre-drilled holes and hardware. The FOWORE ZQ listing says it has no pre-drilled holes, while several Amazon Basics, SentrySafe, Grimtron and Bonsaii models list mounting provisions.

Are these safes rated for serious burglary resistance?

The supplied product information does not establish a recognized RSC or TL burglary rating for these models. Steel bodies, bolts and pry-resistant hinges can support everyday security, but they should not be treated as equivalent to a tested burglary-resistance classification.

Final Recommendation

The SentrySafe SFW123GDC is the best home safe overall because it combines a specific one-hour UL fire classification, 24-hour ETL water protection, useful document capacity, keypad access and bolt-down hardware. Choose the SentrySafe SFW123DSB instead when the safe will be opened infrequently and avoiding battery dependence is more important than rapid electronic entry. For a smaller footprint, the SentrySafe 1160 is the better specialist choice, while the Amazon Basics 50SAM is preferable for larger everyday storage when fire and water ratings are not the main requirement.