10 Best Saddle Hunting Kits

The best saddle hunting kit depends on whether you need a true one-box mobile system or only the saddle, platform and connection equipment. Full kits such as the XOP Full RUT and UIIHUNT 16x12 package include climbing sticks, while XOP Edge bundles are lighter starter combinations for hunters who already have a climbing method. Platform footprint, published system weight, saddle fit, included ropes and straps, carrying equipment and warranty coverage matter more than the word complete on a product title. This guide ranks ten strong options for U.S. mobile whitetail hunters and keeps variant, weight and kit-content differences visible.

Selections prioritize documented kit completeness, including whether climbing sticks, bridge, tether, lineman’s belt or rope, carabiners, straps and carrying equipment are listed. I then compare complete-system weight where available, platform size and leveling features, saddle fit information, portability and the clarity of the product’s model identity. Full mobile systems are judged against hunters who need climbing equipment in the same package; lighter starter bundles are judged against buyers who already own sticks or another climbing method. Marketing language such as quiet, comfortable or stealthy is treated as a product claim rather than a demonstrated result. When listing details conflict, the limitation remains part of the recommendation.

Advertising Disclosure Beverly House Estate participates in affiliate programs, including the Amazon Associates Program. We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this site, at no extra cost to you.

Top-rated Comparison

Our Top 10 Picks

2
UIIHUNT Full Mobile 16x12 Gen1
Best larger-platform full kit

UIIHUNT Full Mobile 16x12 Gen1

For hunters who value a 16x12-inch standing area and a clearly stated 17.1-pound package; it is less compact than a 12x12 platform.

  • Lists a 16x12-inch aluminum platform, Gen1 saddle, four climbing sticks, adjustable bridge, two lineman’s ropes, three twist-lock carabiners and four cam straps.
  • The listing states a 17.1-pound total weight, 1.8-pound sticks and a 20-ounce saddle.
  • The larger platform favors additional standing room, while its 15-inch stick spacing and full-kit size add carrying bulk.
9.4
Check Price Available at Amazon
3
UIIHUNT Full Mobile Gen1 with Backpack
Best organized carry package

UIIHUNT Full Mobile Gen1 with Backpack

For mobile hunters who want a dedicated saddle-hunting backpack with the full climbing system; the listing does not state a complete system weight.

  • Includes a 12x12-inch cast aluminum platform, Gen1 saddle, climbing sticks, lineman’s rope and a purpose-built backpack.
  • The backpack is described with modular storage, hydration compatibility, a ventilated back panel and silent zipper pulls.
  • The 12x12 platform favors compact transport, but buyers who compare pack weight closely will need a verified total rather than a saddle-only figure.
9.2
Check Price Available at Amazon
4
QOGIR Full Mobile Gen3
Best clearly listed safety bundle

QOGIR Full Mobile Gen3

For buyers wanting a complete 12x12 system with four sticks and two lineman’s ropes; the exact variant should be confirmed before purchase.

  • The Amazon listing identifies a 12x12 platform, Gen3 saddle, four 1.8-pound climbing sticks, bridge, tether and two 8-foot lineman’s ropes.
  • The platform includes a built-in leveling system with stated 35-degree adjustability, while the sticks use fixed double steps with 15-inch spacing.
  • A separate QOGIR product page describes a different Gen2 and 16x12 version, so this ASIN’s 12x12 Gen3 identity should control the purchase decision.
9.0
Check Price Available at Amazon
5
UIIHUNT Full Mobile Gen2
Best compact full-kit option

UIIHUNT Full Mobile Gen2

For hunters who prefer a smaller platform and four-stick package; the listing contains a platform-size conflict that should be resolved before ordering.

  • The title and feature text identify a 12x12 aluminum platform, Gen2 saddle, four climbing sticks, bridge and two tree-stand safety ropes.
  • The feature text states 1.8-pound sticks, 15-inch spacing and a 20-ounce saddle, but the specifications field lists the size as 16x12 inches.
  • Its smaller stated platform is attractive for packability, while the conflicting dimensions make exact standing space uncertain.
8.8
Check Price Available at Amazon
6
XOP Edge Mutant
Best medium starter bundle

XOP Edge Mutant

For medium-size hunters who already own climbing sticks and want a light XOP saddle-platform system; it is not a complete climbing package.

  • Includes the Edge platform, Mutant saddle harness, bridge, tether, lineman’s belt, two aluminum twist-lock carabiners, two Prusiks and a carrying bag.
  • The listing states a 9.9-pound full system weight and identifies the harness as Medium.
  • The fully leveling platform and lifetime coverage on metal parts are useful advantages, but climbing sticks are not listed.
8.7
Check Price Available at Amazon
7
XOP Edge and Mondo
Best one-size starter bundle

XOP Edge and Mondo

For hunters who want a lighter one-size saddle-platform combination and already have a climbing method; the package omits sticks.

  • Includes an aluminum platform, Mondo saddle harness, bridge, tether, lineman’s belt and carrying bag.
  • The listing states a 9.6-pound system weight and describes the harness as adjustable in one size.
  • The compact starter format suits existing gear owners, while buyers starting from zero will need climbing sticks separately.
8.6
Check Price Available at Amazon
8
UIIHUNT Complete 16x12 Gen1
Best 16x12 starter platform

UIIHUNT Complete 16x12 Gen1

For buyers who already own sticks but want a larger 16x12 platform and clearly described saddle connection gear; the bundle is not ready to climb by itself.

  • Includes a 16x12 aluminum platform, Gen1 saddle, adjustable bridge, tether and lineman’s rope.
  • The listing states a 5.4-pound platform and 20-ounce saddle, helping separate component weight from total system weight.
  • The 33-inch adjustable bridge and removable components support customization, but climbing sticks, straps and a carrying pack are not listed.
8.5
Check Price Available at Amazon
9
Kalkal Complete Tree Saddle System
Best defined-capacity full kit

Kalkal Complete Tree Saddle System

For hunters who want a wider 12x14.9-inch platform and explicit component capacity claims; its one-year warranty is shorter than the strongest alternatives.

  • Includes four aluminum hunting sticks, a 12x14.9-inch platform, safety saddle, 2.7-foot tether, 10-foot safety rope, 6.6-foot tree strap and three carabiners.
  • The listing states 350-pound platform capacity, 300-pound stick and harness capacity, and an 11.2-pound total weight.
  • The wider standing area and stated capacities are useful comparison points, but the listing does not provide the same detailed saddle-fit information as some competitors.
8.4
Check Price Available at Amazon
10
Kalkal Full Mobile Saddle System
Best larger-footprint Kalkal kit

Kalkal Full Mobile Saddle System

For hunters who prefer a 12x14.9-inch platform and 20-inch sticks with explicit capacity claims; the 19.84-pound weight and one-month warranty are meaningful tradeoffs.

  • Includes four 20-inch aluminum sticks, a 12x14.9-inch platform, safety saddle, 2.7-foot tether, 10-foot safety rope, tree strap and carabiners.
  • The listing states 350-pound platform capacity, 300-pound stick and harness capacity, and a 19.84-pound total system weight.
  • The expanded standing area may suit hunters who prioritize footing, but it takes more weight than the lighter Kalkal package and has a much shorter listed warranty.
8.2
Check Price Available at Amazon

Comparison Summary

The XOP Full RUT ranks first because it is the clearest one-box mobile system in the group: it lists the platform, Mutant saddle harness, bridge, tether, lineman’s belt, four X2 climbing sticks, cam straps, carabiners, Prusiks, a pack and J-hooks. Its main drawback is a published weight discrepancy: the Amazon listing states 18.1 pounds, while indexed XOP product information states 16.1 pounds. The UIIHUNT 16x12 Gen1 kit is the strongest alternative for buyers who want a larger standing area and a clearly stated 17.1-pound package. The UIIHUNT backpack model is particularly useful when organized transport matters, although its total weight is not stated. XOP’s Edge bundles are better choices for existing stick owners because they include the saddle-platform connection system but do not list climbing sticks. The Kalkal full systems offer larger platforms or stated capacity claims, but their heavier weights, shorter warranty terms or less complete dimensional information make them more specialized choices.

Buying Guide

Sizing and Capacity

Platform size is one of the clearest practical differences in this category. The 12x12 platforms in the QOGIR and UIIHUNT full kits favor compact packing, while the 16x12 UIIHUNT systems offer more standing room. The Kalkal systems use a 12x14.9-inch platform, giving them a wider footprint without matching the rectangular dimensions of the UIIHUNT models. The UIIHUNT Gen2 listing is inconsistent, identifying the platform as 12x12 in the title and features but 16x12 in the specifications field.

Capacity must be matched to the component. Kalkal lists separate platform, stick and harness capacities rather than one universal system rating. Other products do not provide an equivalent complete capacity figure in the listing, so do not assume that a platform rating automatically describes the saddle, ropes or every included connector. Saddle fit is also unevenly documented: the XOP Edge Mutant is listed as Medium, the XOP Mondo as one size, and several other saddles do not give a usable waist range.

Feature Tradeoffs

The biggest decision is full mobile kit versus starter bundle. The XOP Full RUT, UIIHUNT full systems, QOGIR and Kalkal mobile packages list climbing sticks, making them appropriate for a buyer building a complete setup. The XOP Edge bundles and UIIHUNT 16x12 starter bundle list a platform, saddle and connection equipment but not climbing sticks. They are lighter and more suitable for hunters who already own sticks or use another climbing method.

Platform size and carry equipment create another tradeoff. Larger platforms can provide more standing room, but they take more space in a pack. The UIIHUNT backpack kit adds purpose-built transport equipment, while the XOP Full RUT lists a Striker pack and J-hooks. A kit with a pack may be easier to organize, but it can be unnecessary weight for a hunter who already has a preferred load-carry system.

Best For, Avoid If

Profile Recommended Product Why It Fits Avoid If
Mobile hunter who wants one package with sticks, safety gear and carrying equipment. XOP Full RUT Midnight It lists the broadest component set, including four X2 sticks, cam straps, pack, J-hooks, bridge, tether, lineman’s belt, carabiners and Prusiks. You already own climbing sticks or need a precisely verified system weight; the listing says 18.1 pounds while indexed XOP information says 16.1 pounds.
Hunter who wants a full kit with a larger 16x12 platform and clearly stated total weight. UIIHUNT Full Mobile 16x12 Gen1 The listing gives a 17.1-pound system weight and includes four sticks, two lineman’s ropes, bridge, carabiners and cam straps. Your priority is the smallest possible platform and pack load.
Mobile hunter who wants a dedicated backpack included with the full system. UIIHUNT Full Mobile Gen1 with Backpack It combines a 12x12 platform, Gen1 saddle, climbing sticks, lineman’s rope and a purpose-built saddle-hunting pack. You already have a preferred pack and need a documented complete-system weight.
Medium-size hunter who already owns sticks and wants a lighter XOP starter bundle. XOP Edge Mutant The listing identifies a Medium Mutant harness, a 9.9-pound system, platform, bridge, tether, lineman’s belt and carrying bag. You need climbing sticks included or do not fit the stated Medium size.
Hunter who prioritizes a wider platform and explicit platform, stick and harness capacity claims. Kalkal Complete Tree Saddle System It lists a 12x14.9-inch platform, four sticks, 11.2-pound total weight and separate 350-pound platform and 300-pound stick and harness claims. You prefer a longer warranty or a more fully documented saddle fit and sizing range.

Key Specs to Compare

Compare these details in the same order for every kit:

  • Complete-system weight, not just the saddle or platform weight. XOP lists both 18.1-pound and 16.1-pound figures for the Full RUT depending on the product information consulted.
  • Platform footprint and leveling information, especially when choosing between 12x12, 16x12 and wider 12x14.9-inch designs.
  • Whether four climbing sticks are included, their individual weight, step spacing and stated length.
  • The exact safety equipment: bridge, tether, lineman’s belt or rope, carabiners, Prusiks, cam straps and tree straps.
  • Saddle size or fit information. One-size, Medium and unspecified are not interchangeable descriptions.
  • Carrying equipment, including a backpack, carrying bag, J-hooks or stick-storage hardware.
  • Warranty scope. XOP lists lifetime coverage for specified metal or cast aluminum parts, while several other kits list two years, one year or one month.

Setup and Handling Considerations

Before buying, inventory the listed components rather than relying on an all-in-one title. A true mobile package should identify the platform, saddle, climbing method and tree-connection equipment. The XOP Full RUT is the most extensive example, while the Edge bundles are intentionally narrower starter packages.

Handling decisions begin with the complete carry load. The UIIHUNT 16x12 kit lists 17.1 pounds, the XOP Full RUT lists 18.1 pounds on Amazon, and the Kalkal packages list 11.2 and 19.84 pounds. Do not compare those figures with a 5.4-pound platform or 20-ounce saddle as if they describe the same thing. Also check whether a pack or carrying bag is included and whether the listed ropes, straps and carabiners match the intended climbing method. Follow the manufacturer’s instructions and use appropriate climbing and fall-arrest training before relying on any saddle system.

Maintenance and Longevity

The most important longevity checks concern the components that connect the hunter to the tree: ropes, bridge, tether, lineman’s belt, carabiners, Prusiks, straps and platform attachment points. Use the care, inspection and replacement guidance for the exact model rather than assuming that all ropes, hardware or aluminum parts have the same service life.

Warranty language also needs careful reading. XOP’s listings specify lifetime coverage for cast aluminum or metal parts, not automatically for every soft good in the package. UIIHUNT and QOGIR list two-year warranties, Kalkal lists different terms across its variants, and the B0H8YXWRZQ Kalkal listing states one month. A longer warranty does not replace inspection or correct use, but it is a meaningful distinction when two kits have similar contents.

Reliability Signals

The strongest reliability signals are a consistent model identity, a complete component list, clear weight information, defined warranty coverage and manufacturer documentation that matches the Amazon variant. XOP’s Full RUT is highly useful but requires a weight check because the Amazon listing and indexed XOP information disagree. QOGIR requires similar caution because the Amazon ASIN identifies a Gen3 12x12 kit while separate QOGIR product information describes a different Gen2 16x12 version.

Kalkal’s official starter-kit documentation states that the included gear was tested to ASTM standards and gives a 300-pound support claim. That evidence should be applied only to the matching starter-kit variant, not automatically to every Kalkal product in this comparison. Marketing claims about silent operation, comfort or stealth should remain claims unless the exact product documentation provides a more specific basis.

How to Compare Reviews

Read reviews for the exact ASIN and variant, not merely the brand name. A review of a 12x12 Gen2 kit may not apply to a 16x12 Gen1 package, and a review of an XOP starter bundle may not describe the Full RUT’s sticks, pack or J-hooks.

Sort comments into useful buying categories: saddle fit and bridge adjustment, platform standing room, stick packing, rope and carabiner contents, setup clarity, noise observations and long-sit comfort. Separate comments about one component from claims about the complete system. Give more weight to specific observations that identify the model, platform size and use case than to vague statements about quality. A review mentioning a missing stick or rope is especially important because kit completeness is a central decision in this category.

Common Mistakes

The most common mistake is buying a starter bundle while expecting a complete climbing system. The XOP Edge products and UIIHUNT B0FD9GZBBY do not list climbing sticks, even though they contain the core saddle-platform connection equipment.

Other mistakes include comparing saddle-only weight with complete-kit weight, overlooking platform-size conflicts, assuming a listed capacity applies equally to the saddle and platform, and treating a one-size label as proof of universal fit. Buyers should also confirm whether a pack, carrying bag, cam straps, tree straps, bridge, tether and lineman’s equipment are actually included. Finally, do not treat claims such as quiet, comfortable or stealthy as measured performance, and do not substitute ratings or popularity for checking the exact components and warranty.

Frequently Asked Questions

Do all of these saddle hunting kits include climbing sticks?

No. The XOP Full RUT, UIIHUNT full mobile packages, QOGIR and Kalkal full systems list climbing sticks. The XOP Edge bundles and UIIHUNT B0FD9GZBBY do not, so they are better treated as starter bundles for buyers who already have a climbing method.

Which published weight should I use when comparing kits?

Use a complete-system weight only when the listing says it includes the full package. Do not compare a 20-ounce saddle or 5.4-pound platform with a complete kit. The XOP Full RUT also needs special attention because the Amazon listing states 18.1 pounds while indexed XOP information states 16.1 pounds.

Is a 12x12 platform too small for saddle hunting?

Not necessarily. A 12x12 platform favors compact carrying, while a 16x12 or 12x14.9-inch platform provides more standing area. The better choice depends on how much pack space and foot room you want, along with the rest of the kit’s weight.

How important is saddle sizing?

It is essential. The listings do not use one consistent sizing system: XOP identifies the Edge Mutant as Medium and the Mondo as one size, while several other products do not state a usable waist range. Confirm fit information for the exact model before buying.

What should I verify before using a complete saddle hunting system?

Confirm that the platform, sticks, bridge, tether, lineman’s equipment, carabiners and straps match the product listing and the manufacturer’s instructions. Use appropriate climbing and fall-arrest training, and do not treat marketing claims or a capacity figure for one component as a substitute for correct setup.

Final Recommendation

The XOP Full RUT Midnight is the best overall saddle hunting kit because it most closely matches a true one-box mobile system, with four climbing sticks, a platform, Mutant harness, bridge, tether, lineman’s belt, straps, hardware, pack and J-hooks. Verify the weight before ordering because the Amazon listing states 18.1 pounds while indexed XOP information states 16.1 pounds. For a hunter who already owns climbing sticks and wants a lighter, more focused package, the XOP Edge Mutant is the better alternative: it lists a 9.9-pound starter system and a Medium harness, but it does not include sticks.