10 Best King Mattresses in a Box

The best King mattress in a box depends less on maximum height than on how its construction matches your sleeping position, temperature preferences, partner movement and delivery constraints. Standard King mattresses are approximately 76 by 80 inches, but the selected models range from 10 to 14 inches tall and from about 51 to 110 pounds. That difference affects bed height, fitted-sheet depth and how difficult the mattress may be to move into a bedroom before opening.

This shortlist prioritizes exact King dimensions, clearly identified mattress-in-a-box construction, stated firmness, support design, cooling features, motion-control claims, edge support, setup guidance, material certifications and advertised trial or warranty terms. All-foam models are considered for contouring and motion absorption, while hybrids receive credit for coil response, airflow and perimeter structure. Product claims remain tied to the wording of the listing or published product information; a cooling, pain-relief or durability claim is not treated as a measured performance result. Variant consistency also matters, so model-number disagreements and unspecified feel or protection terms are called out where they affect the buying decision.

Advertising Disclosure Beverly House Estate participates in affiliate programs, including the Amazon Associates Program. We may earn a commission when you buy through links on this site, at no extra cost to you.

Top-rated Comparison

Our Top 10 Picks

2
UniPon 14-Inch Firm King P2503189
Best Firm Lumbar Support

UniPon 14-Inch Firm King P2503189

For back, stomach and combination sleepers seeking a firm hybrid with extra lumbar support, with a 110-pound listed weight and less emphasis on plush softness.

  • Independent pocket springs, multiple foam layers, reinforced coils and an extra lumbar foam zone are listed to support the hips and lower back.
  • The listing describes a firm 14-inch design with motion isolation, reinforced edges, CertiPUR-US and OEKO-TEX materials, fiberglass-free construction, a 365-night trial and a 10-year warranty.
  • Its 110-pound listed weight is among the highest in this group, so move it into the intended room before opening and plan for more handling effort.
9.4
Check Price Available at Amazon
3
Sweetnight CoolNest 14-Inch King SN14KGYMMPRO23
Best Medium-Firm All-Foam

Sweetnight CoolNest 14-Inch King SN14KGYMMPRO23

For sleepers who prefer contouring and a medium feel with cooling-focused foam layers, though the listing does not state a trial or warranty.

  • The all-foam 14-inch mattress uses a five-zone support design, gel-infused memory foam and PCM high-resilience foam; the listing specifies a medium feel.
  • A 3D-woven cover, ventilation pores and a hollow foam structure are listed for breathability, while the foam construction is intended to absorb partner movement.
  • It offers a more pressure-conforming, low-bounce profile than a hybrid, and its published product information does not identify a trial period or warranty.
9.2
Check Price Available at Amazon
4
Novilla Bliss 14-Inch Gel King NAMM14KGYV15
Best Zoned Foam Support

Novilla Bliss 14-Inch Gel King NAMM14KGYV15

For couples and hot sleepers who want a tall all-foam mattress with targeted support and motion absorption, without a listed trial or warranty.

  • The three-layer 14-inch foam design uses NanoGel memory foam, comfort and support layers, and a target-zoned support claim for pressure distribution and spinal alignment.
  • The listing states motion isolation, reinforced edge support, CertiPUR-US foam and an ISPA certification claim; its listed weight is 92.4 pounds.
  • All-foam construction should suit shoppers who prioritize contouring and reduced movement transfer, but it will not provide the coil response or bounce of the hybrid picks.
9.1
Check Price Available at Amazon
5
Hugulf 12-Inch King Hybrid Hugu-K12
Best Fiberglass-Free Hybrid

Hugulf 12-Inch King Hybrid Hugu-K12

For couples and hot sleepers who want a medium-firm hybrid with zoned support and fiberglass-free construction, with fewer published protection details.

  • The eight-layer build combines memory foam with 8-inch pocket coils, seven-zone ergonomic support, reinforced perimeter coils and a breathable cover.
  • The listing states fiberglass-free construction, motion isolation, a medium-firm feel and compatibility with platform beds and slatted foundations.
  • The product information gives a 72-hour expansion instruction but does not state a trial, warranty or certification claim, so those terms should be confirmed before purchase.
8.9
Check Price Available at Amazon
6
REMIISS 12-Inch King Hybrid M-26-8
Best Stated Capacity

REMIISS 12-Inch King Hybrid M-26-8

For back, stomach and combination sleepers interested in a firm-support hybrid and a stated higher capacity, with conflicting firmness language to resolve.

  • The listing describes gel memory foam, 800-plus individually wrapped pocket coils, seven-zone support, reinforced edges and fiberglass-free construction.
  • Product information claims support for 500 to 600 pounds, but that is a listing claim rather than an independently verified capacity; confirm the applicable limit for the exact variant.
  • The title calls the mattress medium firm while the feature text calls it firm, so shoppers with a precise firmness preference should verify the feel before ordering.
8.8
Check Price Available at Amazon
7
Novilla 12-Inch King Hybrid NAMSV10EDRUP
Best Balanced 12-Inch Hybrid

Novilla 12-Inch King Hybrid NAMSV10EDRUP

For shoppers wanting a moderately tall hybrid with cooling fabric, SmartS coils and usable edges, with a model-number mismatch that requires checking.

  • The listing combines SmartS coils with contouring foam, AirBreeze fabric, reinforced perimeter support and a fiberglass-free construction claim.
  • It is listed at 12 inches and about 65.98 pounds, making it lighter to position than several 14-inch alternatives; the listing is intended for side, back and stomach sleepers.
  • The model field is NAMSV10EDRUP while the item part number is NAMSV26EDRUP, so confirm the exact model and specifications before checkout.
8.7
Check Price Available at Amazon
8
Avenco 10-Inch King Hybrid AOMSP3010KGYN2
Best Low-Profile Hybrid

Avenco 10-Inch King Hybrid AOMSP3010KGYN2

For shoppers who prefer a lower 10-inch profile and a medium-firm coil feel, with less material depth than the 12- and 14-inch choices.

  • The hybrid uses SmartS pocket coils, NanoGel memory foam, reinforced edge coils and high-density foam; the listing describes it as medium firm.
  • Individually wrapped coils and foam are listed for motion isolation, pressure relief and cooling, while CertiPUR-US materials are specified.
  • The mattress is listed at 80.36 pounds and should expand in 48 to 72 hours; a 10-year manufacturer protection term is stated, but the shorter profile may provide less cushioning depth than taller models.
8.6
Check Price Available at Amazon
9
Zinus Green Tea 12-Inch King AZ-BTCM-12K
Best Straightforward Foam Option

Zinus Green Tea 12-Inch King AZ-BTCM-12K

For shoppers seeking a familiar all-foam design with a 10-year limited warranty and clear expansion guidance, with less stated edge and cooling structure.

  • The 12-inch all-foam mattress lists 3 inches of conforming memory foam, green tea and ActivCharcoal infusions, and CertiPUR-US certification.
  • The listing says the King variant supports up to 500 pounds and should regain its full shape within 24 to 72 hours; a 10-year limited warranty is included.
  • The model is listed as AZ-BTCM-12K while the item part number is ZU-MFMA1ZZI-12K, so verify the exact variant; the listing does not emphasize coils, reinforced edges or a stated firmness.
8.5
Check Price Available at Amazon
10
Novilla Bliss CoolingPro 14-Inch King NAMM14KGYV66
Best Cooling-Focused Foam

Novilla Bliss CoolingPro 14-Inch King NAMM14KGYV66

For hot sleepers who prefer all-foam contouring and a cool-touch cover, with no listed firmness, trial or warranty to guide the purchase.

  • The 14-inch, four-layer foam design combines a cool-touch nylon cover, PCM-infused open-cell foam and perforated NanoGEL memory foam.
  • The listing describes responsive relief, motion absorption and up to 72 hours for expansion; the mattress weighs 92.15 pounds.
  • Its cooling construction is the main differentiator, but the published product information does not state a firmness level, trial period or warranty.
8.4
Check Price Available at Amazon

Comparison Summary

Sleepmax Mist is the strongest overall recommendation because its listing combines a 14-inch pocket-coil hybrid build with a Euro top, fiberglass-free construction, CertiPUR-US and OEKO-TEX claims, edge support, a 365-night trial and a lifetime service agreement. Its 104-pound listed weight makes it a substantial mattress to position before unboxing, but the construction is well suited to couples and shoppers who want a balance of cushioning and coil support.

Buying Guide

Sizing and Capacity

A standard King is approximately 76 by 80 inches, and every selected mattress uses that general footprint. Height ranges from Avenco’s 10 inches to several 14-inch models. A taller mattress can add cushioning layers and raise the sleeping surface, but it also increases total bed height and may require deeper-pocket sheets. Check the combined height of the mattress, foundation and frame before ordering.

Listed weights range from about 51 pounds for the Hugulf to 110 pounds for the UniPon. Weight is not a direct measure of quality, but it is a practical delivery and setup issue for narrow hallways, stairs and upstairs bedrooms. Move the compressed box into the intended room before opening it. Capacity information is inconsistent across the category: Zinus lists up to 500 pounds for non-twin sizes, while REMIISS claims 500 to 600 pounds. Treat the REMIISS figure as a product-listing claim and confirm how any capacity limit applies to two sleepers.

Feature Tradeoffs

All-foam mattresses such as Sweetnight, both Novilla foam models and Zinus emphasize contouring and movement absorption. They are the better starting point for couples who dislike feeling a partner turn or get up, and for side sleepers who want the surface to conform around shoulders and hips. The tradeoff is less coil response and bounce, and the listings do not provide equally strong edge-support details for every foam model.

Hybrids such as Sleepmax Mist, UniPon, Hugulf, REMIISS, the Novilla 12-inch model and Avenco combine foam with pocket coils. That construction is a practical match for shoppers who want more responsive support, airflow through the coil area or a more stable sitting edge. The selected listings commonly emphasize motion isolation, but coil construction can still feel more lively than a solid foam core. Sleepmax and UniPon offer the most complete combination of edge, material and protection claims; Avenco is the lower-profile choice.

Cooling language appears across both categories. PCM, gel, perforated foam, breathable covers and airflow channels describe intended design features, not guaranteed room-independent results. Hot sleepers should also consider bedroom temperature, bedding and the sleeper’s preferred feel rather than choosing by the word cooling alone.

Best For, Avoid If

Profile Recommended Product Why It Fits Avoid If
Couples wanting a balanced 14-inch hybrid Sleepmax Mist 14-Inch King Sleepmax Mist combines pocket coils, foam, reinforced edges, motion-isolation claims and a 365-night trial with a lifetime service agreement. You want a lightweight mattress or the deepest all-foam contouring; the listed mattress weighs 104 pounds and has a more responsive hybrid construction.
Back and stomach sleepers seeking firm lumbar support UniPon 14-Inch Firm King P2503189 UniPon lists a firm feel, extra lumbar foam, reinforced coils, fiberglass-free construction and a 365-night trial. You prefer a plush or medium surface, or need the easiest King mattress to carry; the listed weight is 110 pounds.
Side sleepers and motion-sensitive couples preferring all-foam Sweetnight CoolNest 14-Inch King SN14KGYMMPRO23 Sweetnight provides a listed medium feel, five-zone support, gel and PCM layers, and foam-based motion absorption. A published trial or warranty is essential, because neither is stated in the product information.
Shoppers who want a lower-profile hybrid Avenco 10-Inch King Hybrid AOMSP3010KGYN2 Avenco is 10 inches tall, medium firm, uses pocket coils and NanoGel foam, and lists 48-to-72-hour expansion guidance plus 10-year manufacturer protection. You want the deeper cushioning or taller profile of a 14-inch mattress.
Buyers seeking a straightforward foam mattress with stated warranty coverage Zinus Green Tea 12-Inch King AZ-BTCM-12K Zinus lists 3 inches of memory foam, CertiPUR-US certification, 24-to-72-hour expansion and a 10-year limited warranty. You need clearly stated firmness, reinforced edges or a hybrid coil feel.

Key Specs to Compare

Before comparing prices, check the exact King variant, thickness, construction, listed weight and firmness language. A useful comparison looks like this:

  • Sleepmax Mist: 14-inch hybrid, 104 pounds, Euro top, pocket coils, reinforced edges, fiberglass-free claim, 365-night trial and lifetime service agreement.
  • UniPon: 14-inch firm hybrid, 110 pounds, extra lumbar zone, reinforced edges, fiberglass-free claim, 365-night trial and 10-year warranty.
  • Sweetnight CoolNest: 14-inch all-foam, medium feel, five-zone support, PCM and gel layers, with no trial or warranty stated.
  • Novilla Bliss 14-inch: 14-inch all-foam, 92.4 pounds, NanoGel, target-zoned support and reinforced edges.
  • Hugulf and REMIISS: 12-inch hybrids with pocket coils, but verify the exact firmness and protection terms before buying.
  • Avenco and Zinus: lower-weight alternatives with clearly stated setup guidance; Avenco is hybrid and medium firm, while Zinus is all-foam.

Pay particular attention to variant consistency. The Novilla 12-inch hybrid has different model and item-part identifiers, Zinus has different model and item-part identifiers, and REMIISS uses different firm and medium-firm descriptions in the same listing.

Setup and Handling Considerations

Compressed mattresses are easier to ship than traditional full-size mattresses, but a King box still needs a clear path to the bedroom. Unroll the mattress on its intended base, remove the packaging carefully and allow the stated expansion period before judging its final shape. Zinus lists 24 to 72 hours, Avenco lists 48 to 72 hours, and several other products specify up to 72 hours.

The heaviest handling choices are UniPon at 110 pounds, Sleepmax Mist at 104 pounds and Novilla Bliss 14-inch at 92.4 pounds. The lighter listed options include Hugulf at 51 pounds, REMIISS at 50 pounds and the 12-inch Novilla hybrid at approximately 65.98 pounds. These weights describe the listed mattress, not necessarily the shipping carton or the effort required to position it. If stairs or tight turns are involved, compare weight and height together rather than choosing only by comfort claims.

Maintenance and Longevity

The supplied product information does not provide a universal rotation schedule or care routine, so follow the exact manufacturer’s instructions rather than assuming that every mattress should be rotated or flipped. Keep the mattress on the base type identified as compatible by the product information, and avoid judging long-term durability from thickness alone.

Hybrid designs have coils plus foam, while all-foam designs rely on layered foam support; neither construction guarantees a particular lifespan for every sleeper. Edge support, material certifications and a warranty can reduce uncertainty, but they do not replace checking the warranty’s exclusions, required foundation and claim process. Sleepmax advertises a lifetime service agreement, UniPon and Avenco list 10-year protection, and Zinus lists a 10-year limited warranty. Several other selected listings do not state comparable protection terms.

Reliability Signals

The most useful reliability signals here are specific and verifiable listing details rather than broad comfort language. CertiPUR-US appears across many of the selected models, and some also state OEKO-TEX certification or an OEKO-TEX cover. Sleepmax, Hugulf, REMIISS, UniPon and the Novilla hybrid listings make explicit fiberglass-free claims; Zinus, Sweetnight and the two Novilla foam listings identify certification or material information without the same fiberglass-free wording.

Protection terms are another differentiator. Sleepmax lists a 365-night trial and lifetime service agreement; UniPon lists a 365-night trial and 10-year warranty; Avenco lists 10-year manufacturer protection; and Zinus lists a 10-year limited warranty. A missing term is not proof of poor performance, but it gives the buyer less published risk-control information. Model, height, material and size should also agree across the listing. Where they do not, confirm the variant before relying on any feature.

How to Compare Reviews

When reading reviews for any of these mattresses, match the review to the exact model number, height and King variant. A review of a different size or a similarly named model may not describe the same foam layers, coil count or firmness. Give more weight to comments that identify the sleeper’s position, body size, bedroom temperature and length of use.

For couples, look for specific observations about movement transfer, edge stability and whether the mattress feels responsive or deeply conforming. For side sleepers, look for shoulder and hip pressure comments; for back and stomach sleepers, look for descriptions of support around the midsection and whether the surface feels too soft. Setup comments should be compared with the listed expansion window, while cooling comments should be treated as personal experiences rather than universal proof. Review language should not override clear listing differences such as Sleepmax’s stated trial, UniPon’s lumbar zone, Sweetnight’s medium feel or REMIISS’s conflicting firmness descriptions.

Common Mistakes

Choosing the tallest mattress automatically is a common mistake. Height may add layers, but it also increases bed height, sheet requirements and handling effort. Another mistake is treating all memory foam and all hybrids as interchangeable: foam generally favors contouring and motion absorption, while coils usually add response and structural support.

Do not assume that a cooling label guarantees a cool sleep surface, or that a back-pain claim is a clinical result. Check whether the listing states a firmness level, lumbar or zoned support and edge construction that match your position and preferences. Do not overlook the difference between a stated trial and a warranty; they address different forms of purchase risk.

Finally, verify the exact model before ordering when identifiers conflict. That check is especially important for the Novilla 12-inch hybrid, Zinus and REMIISS, where the listing contains either differing identifiers or differing firmness descriptions.

Frequently Asked Questions

Are these King mattresses all the same size?

They are listed as standard King models measuring approximately 76 by 80 inches, but thickness and weight vary substantially. Check the exact product dimensions and the combined height of your foundation and frame before ordering.

Should I choose foam or a hybrid mattress in a box?

Choose all-foam construction if contouring and motion absorption are your priorities. Choose a hybrid if you want coil response, more airflow through the support core or stronger stated edge structure. Sleepmax and UniPon are the most complete hybrid choices, while Sweetnight and the Novilla foam models emphasize all-foam comfort.

Which selected mattresses make fiberglass-free claims?

Sleepmax Mist, UniPon, Hugulf, REMIISS and the Novilla 12-inch hybrid explicitly state fiberglass-free construction in their listings. The wording is not the same across every selected model, so check the exact product information rather than assuming the claim applies to a similarly named mattress.

How long should a boxed King mattress expand?

The listed guidance ranges from 24 to 72 hours for Zinus and 48 to 72 hours for Avenco, while several other models state up to 72 hours. Move the box into the bedroom before opening, allow the stated expansion period and use the manufacturer’s instructions for final setup.

Which mattress is best if I need a firm feel?

UniPon explicitly lists a firm 14-inch hybrid and provides extra lumbar support. REMIISS is another option, but its title says medium firm while its feature text says firm, so confirm the desired feel before purchasing.

Final Recommendation

Sleepmax Mist 14-Inch King is the best overall recommendation because it combines a responsive pocket-coil build, foam comfort, reinforced edges, fiberglass-free and certification claims, and the clearest advertised trial and service protection in this group. Choose UniPon 14-Inch Firm King P2503189 instead if firm lumbar support for back or stomach sleeping matters more than a lighter setup. For an all-foam alternative with a stated medium feel and cooling-focused layers, Sweetnight CoolNest 14-Inch King SN14KGYMMPRO23 is the better fit.