Comparison Summary
The COSMO COS-ERD304K-BK is the strongest full-size replacement because it combines a 4.9 cu. ft. convection oven, four glass-cooktop burners, dual-element zones, six oven functions, and a digital timer. It requires a 240V connection, and the manufacturer states that the power cord is not included. The Rangaire RRE303TS is a strong alternative for shoppers who value air fry, true convection, telescopic EasyReach racks, and a smooth ceramic surface.
For countertop cooking, the Duxtop 9620LS/BT-350DZ leads with two independent induction zones, while the Duxtop 8100MC/BT-180G3 offers a simpler single-zone setup with dial control. The CUSIMAX ES-3202 and CUKOR 1800W double burner accept a broader range of cookware than induction models. The Elite Gourmet ESB-301BF# is the most compact low-watt choice for one-pot supplemental cooking.
Buying Guide
Sizing and Capacity
Start by deciding whether you need an oven range or a countertop appliance. A full-size range is the correct class for replacing a kitchen stove, while a portable burner is intended for supplemental cooking, temporary housing, RVs, offices, dorms, or small kitchens.
For ranges, oven capacity matters more than exterior width alone. The COSMO provides 4.9 cu. ft., the Empava provides 4.8 cu. ft., and the Kenmore provides 5.2 cu. ft. The larger Kenmore cavity is better suited to family meals and holiday batches, while the COSMO and Empava still provide conventional full-size range capacity. The Rangaire is a 30-inch model with a full oven, but confirm the exact interior and installation measurements before purchase.
For portable units, sizing means the number and diameter of cooking zones, total output, and counter footprint. The Duxtop 9620LS has two induction zones but shares 1,800W between them. The CUSIMAX and CUKOR also offer two burners, while the Duxtop 8100MC, ChangBERT, and Elite Gourmet are single-zone units. A single burner is easier to store; a dual burner is more useful when preparing two dishes at once.
Feature Tradeoffs
Induction is the clearest speed-and-control option among the portable products, but it narrows cookware compatibility. The Duxtop 9620LS, Duxtop 8100MC, and ChangBERT require magnetic cookware. Check a pan with a magnet before buying or expect to replace incompatible pieces. Power sharing is also important on the dual Duxtop: its 1,800W rating is total output, not 1,800W per zone.
Radiant ceramic and conventional cast-iron heating accept more cookware. The COSMO, Rangaire, and Empava use smooth electric cooktops, while the CUSIMAX, CUKOR, and Elite Gourmet use cast-iron plates. Smooth glass is easier to wipe after spills, but it requires more care around scratches and surface residue. Cast iron is broadly compatible and stable, but its heating response is more gradual.
Convection is useful when roasting, browning, or cooking on more than one rack. The COSMO and Rangaire explicitly document convection features, while the Rangaire also lists air fry and telescopic racks. Steam cleaning on the Empava and Kenmore is a convenience feature for light cleaning, not a substitute for addressing heavy baked-on residue.
Best For, Avoid If
| Profile |
Recommended Product |
Why It Fits |
Avoid If |
| Homeowner replacing a 30-inch kitchen range |
COSMO COS-ERD304K-BK |
The COSMO combines a 4.9 cu. ft. convection oven, four glass-cooktop burners, dual-element zones, six oven functions, and a digital timer. |
You need a standard-outlet portable appliance or do not have a verified 240V connection and separate plan for the power cord. |
| Cook needing two countertop induction zones |
Duxtop 9620LS / BT-350DZ |
The Duxtop 9620LS provides two independent zones, LCD touch controls, multiple power and temperature levels, and a child safety lock. |
Your cookware is not magnetic or you need full 1,800W output on both zones simultaneously. |
| Buyer wanting a steam-clean replacement range |
Empava EMPV-30ERX62 |
The Empava offers a 4.8 cu. ft. oven, two 2,100W dual burners, two 1,200W burners, rear controls, and steam cleaning. |
You cannot verify whether the freestanding or slide-in installation format matches your kitchen. |
| Student, camper, or office user with mixed cookware |
CUSIMAX ES-3202 |
The CUSIMAX has two independently controlled 900W cast-iron burners and works with many flat-bottom cookware materials. |
You want induction-style responsiveness or need a cooler-touch portable surface. |
| One-pot cook with induction-ready pans |
Duxtop 8100MC / BT-180G3 |
The Duxtop 8100MC provides 1,800W, 15 power levels, 15 temperature settings, a 170-minute timer, and specified 120V/15A operation. |
You use aluminum or other nonmagnetic cookware, or routinely need two pots at once. |
| RV or dorm user needing a small supplemental burner |
Elite Gourmet ESB-301BF# |
The Elite Gourmet uses a compact 6.4-inch cast-iron plate, seven settings, and ordinary cookware compatibility. |
You need rapid high-heat cooking, a larger cooking surface, or simultaneous two-pot operation. |
Key Specs to Compare
For a replacement range, compare width, depth, height, oven capacity, burner count, element size, control placement, oven functions, cleaning features, and electrical requirements. The COSMO specifies 240V, 60Hz, and a 3- or 4-wire connection, with the cord not included. The Empava also lists 240V and no power cord. Do not assume that either can use a standard household outlet.
The COSMO’s available product information is unusually detailed about its dual-element burner layouts and six oven functions. Its listing title contains conflicting gas-range wording, but the glass electric cooktop and 240V electrical specification identify the model as an electric range. Confirm the exact model number, COS-ERD304K-BK, before ordering.
For portable models, compare total wattage, whether output is shared, heating-zone diameter, control type, timer range, safety shutoff, and cookware requirements. Also distinguish a per-burner rating from the total unit rating. A 900W-plus-900W unit has a different use profile from a single 1,800W induction burner even though both total 1,800W.
Setup and Handling Considerations
Measure the available space before choosing either appliance class. Range dimensions should be checked against the actual opening, surrounding cabinets, ventilation clearance, and electrical connection requirements. Product-title dimensions are not automatically the same as an installation cutout. This is especially important for the Kenmore, whose product record lists a 46.35-inch height, and the Empava, whose listing uses both freestanding and slide-in language.
Portable cooktops need a stable, heat-resistant countertop with enough clearance around the appliance. The Duxtop 8100MC specifies 120V and 15A operation. Electrical details for several other portable models are not stated in the available product information, so verify the exact listing or manual before using one in an RV, office, or older building.
Handling also differs by heating method. Induction models need a flat magnetic pan that covers the cooking zone appropriately. Cast-iron and coil units accept more cookware, but their surfaces and surrounding housings can remain hot. Use the controls and safety features as described for the exact model, and do not assume that a timer is an automatic oven-style shutoff unless the product documentation says so.
Maintenance and Longevity
Smooth glass and ceramic cooktops are selected partly for easier wipe-down cleaning. Remove spills using the cleaning method specified for the exact surface and avoid treating a glass top like a cast-iron plate. The COSMO, Rangaire, and Empava provide smooth electric cooking surfaces, while the Kenmore adds Steam Clean and a hidden bake element to reduce hard-to-reach areas in the oven.
Cast-iron and coil portable burners have fewer surface seams than a full range but still need spills removed after the appliance has cooled. The CUSIMAX, CUKOR, and Elite Gourmet are practical where cookware flexibility matters, though gradual heating and hot surfaces are part of their operating profile. The Duxtop and ChangBERT induction surfaces avoid exposed hot coils, but the cookware and electronic controls create their own compatibility and handling requirements.
Warranty information is a documentation signal rather than a guarantee of service life. Listed coverage includes one year for COSMO, Rangaire, Kenmore, and Elite Gourmet; two years for Empava and the Duxtop models; and 18 months for CUSIMAX. The available CUKOR specification record does not state a warranty, so check the current product terms.
Reliability Signals
Look for concrete documentation rather than treating a marketing phrase as proof of long-term performance. The COSMO is listed as ETL certified and includes cooling ventilation, overheating protection, and triple-thick oven glass. The ChangBERT listing states ETL and NSF certification claims and describes several electronic safety protections, including overheat, auto-shutdown, small-object, and circuit-failure protection.
Construction and control details also matter. The Rangaire uses a smooth ceramic surface and telescopic racks; the Kenmore lists chrome racks and a hidden bake element; and the portable cast-iron models use simple independent knobs or thermostats. Simpler controls can be easier to operate, while digital induction controls offer finer preset adjustment but depend more heavily on compatible cookware and electronic functions.
Confirm the exact model, warranty terms, electrical requirements, and included equipment before treating any product as an installation-ready purchase. A missing cord, ambiguous installation format, or unverified dimension can matter more than an extra cooking mode.
How to Compare Reviews
For exact-model reviews, separate comments about the product from comments about an entire brand or appliance category. For a full-size range, prioritize reports that identify the model number and discuss oven temperature behavior, element cycling, control placement, rack access, glass-top cleaning, and fit in the buyer’s kitchen.
For the COSMO and Empava, check whether reviewers clearly distinguish installation issues from cooking performance, especially because both require 240V connections and the available information says the power cord is not included. For the Rangaire, look for model-specific comments about the telescopic racks, convection, air-fry function, and touch controls. For the Kenmore, verify that comments concern the 5.2 cu. ft. rear-control model rather than another Kenmore range.
For portable units, review the exact zone count, cookware type, and power behavior. The Duxtop 9620LS deserves particular attention to power sharing between zones; the Duxtop 8100MC and ChangBERT require magnetic pans; and the CUSIMAX, CUKOR, and Elite Gourmet should be assessed for plate size, heat adjustment, stability, and cleanup. Reviews are most useful when they describe the same model, cookware, outlet type, and cooking task you plan to use.
Common Mistakes
The biggest mistake is buying the wrong appliance class. A portable burner cannot replace an oven range for baking, roasting, or full kitchen replacement. Conversely, a full-size 240V range is excessive for someone who only needs one extra burner in an office or RV.
Do not assume every electric product uses a standard outlet. The COSMO and Empava require 240V connections, while the Duxtop 8100MC specifies 120V and 15A. Confirm the electrical requirement and whether a cord is included before ordering. Also verify whether a product described as freestanding, slide-in, or countertop matches the available space.
Do not treat all wattage numbers as equivalent. The Duxtop 9620LS lists 1,800W total across two zones, while the CUSIMAX lists 900W plus 900W. Compare burner count, zone size, cookware contact area, and whether output is shared. Finally, check cookware compatibility before choosing induction. Magnetic pans are mandatory for the Duxtop and ChangBERT models, while the cast-iron and radiant options are more accommodating.
Frequently Asked Questions
Do I need a full-size range or a portable electric cooktop?
Choose a full-size range when you need an oven and a permanent kitchen replacement. Choose a portable cooktop when you need supplemental cooking, a temporary setup, RV or dorm use, office cooking, or a backup burner.
Which products require magnetic cookware?
The Duxtop 9620LS, Duxtop 8100MC, and ChangBERT CIB-80 are induction cooktops and require compatible magnetic cookware. The cast-iron portable burners and radiant electric ranges are more broadly compatible with flat-bottom cookware.
Can a two-burner portable cooktop run both pans at full power?
Not necessarily. The Duxtop 9620LS lists 1,800W total output and uses power sharing, so demanding two-pan cooking may divide available power between the zones.
Which electric ranges have a verified 240V requirement?
The COSMO COS-ERD304K-BK is documented for 240V, 60Hz, with a 3- or 4-wire connection, and the Empava listing also specifies 240V. Both state that a power cord is not included, so confirm installation requirements before ordering.
Are product dimensions the same as the required installation opening?
No. Product dimensions describe the appliance, not necessarily the cabinet cutout, clearance, or electrical access needed for installation. Verify the exact installation instructions, especially for the Kenmore’s listed height and the Empava’s freestanding-versus-slide-in description.
Final Recommendation
The COSMO COS-ERD304K-BK is the best overall recommendation for a buyer replacing a full-size electric range because it combines a 4.9 cu. ft. convection oven, four glass-cooktop burners, dual-element cooking zones, six oven functions, and a digital timer. Its 240V installation requirement and excluded power cord are meaningful purchase conditions, not minor details.
Choose the Rangaire RRE303TS instead if air fry, true convection, and telescopic EasyReach racks matter more than the COSMO’s more fully documented burner layout. For a countertop alternative rather than a range replacement, the Duxtop 9620LS is preferable when you need two cooking zones and already own magnetic cookware.